New Directions

Projects and ideas are filling my head and overfilling my hours. It’s a wonderful feeling to have so many things wanting to burst out of me but I’m feeling the pressure of each hour that ticks by without that work being done!

And to answer the question before it’s asked…no, I do not have a new book in the works. As I’ve said before, when I think I have a great idea, I just need to look at the publishing sites and it’s most likely already been done. So, while another book may happen someday, right now I’m just happy to be doing the work I love in my studio!

Here’s the first project I got started.

Lots of fusible scraps started this little beauty. I’m sure you can see that it’s a stand of trees, but I’ve taken a left turn since I began. I have some delicate tree shapes that I want to place on top of this background–you may be able to see one on the right hand side of this picture. That’s the problem, though…you can’t see it! So I need to figure out how to make those difficult to cut out, dainty little trees show up! I think a layer of tulle will do it, but…black or white? Time to look at that tomorrow, since I had to go to the store and get some black tulle!

Another project has all the pieces parts laid out, but I want it to be bigger. The problem is that it’s for a challenge that I issued to my wacky group, so I kinda need to follow the rules…or do I? Am I not the rule-breaker? Are the quilt police going to come looking for me? I don’t think so! All right–this will make working on it easier next time and maybe I can get a pic for you. That group also has another challenge going and I don’t really like what I have made. I’m going to add some picket fence pieces to it before I take a picture, but I’m not sure it can be saved enough to make me happy.

Project #3 (or is it #4?) is well under way and I have lots of pics, but I’m planning on submitting it for a magazine article. I’ll err on the side of caution and NOT publish anything prematurely. Let’s just say that it was odd because the idea came to me in the middle of a sleepless night…simple and perfect. I guess sleeplessness has a reason!

Maybe I’ll try for a sleepless night tonight…there could be more great ideas floating out there and I wouldn’t want to scare them off with my snoring!

4 thoughts on “New Directions

  1. Wow, what a great piece! I wouldn’t do another thing to it. it looks terrific already with lots going on. I wouldn’t try to make it so literal with actual tree shapes. Or make another with tree shapes and see which one you like better. But do get your sleep, you need it!

    Like

    • What a great idea, Roxanne. But since I started with scraps, I really can’t make another one easily. Maybe I can cut this one in half or start with another colorway. Always another idea comes out of whatever we make. If it doesn’t, start a new train of thought!

      Like

  2. You don’t see that tree instantly but id does draw your eye to it. Sort of a nice surprise which I enjoy when looking at an art piece.

    Like

Comments are closed.