Theme, Series or Unimaginative?

It seems that I have done quite a few projects with trees as the subject, going back a few years now. I’m not sure if that indicates a tree theme or if I’m actually working in a series about trees in different aspects or if I really lack the imagination to depict anything else! I’m not going to agonize over it or go into a long philosophical discussion about it…that’s not me! What I’m going to do is just continue making the work and give it a “label” if there comes a point when it’s required. But the question does float through my mind now and then…

So, back to the latest tree project. Several photos follow and I would love your opinions. Remember, I’m trying to decide how best to integrate/separate dainty tree shapes and more amorphous background tree shapes.

Here's the original with no separation of elements.

With one layer of white tulle

One layer of black tulle

Several layers, 4 I think, of white tulle

Two layers of black tulle

What do you think? I’m also now considering some suggestions I got-use it as I pictured it in the original or don’t even add the additional tree figures. That way the conflict disappears!

In the meantime, my whacky group met again to learn a new hexagon folding method. Here’s what I made (green), along with an example from Mary, our instructor for the method. It’s so easy I didn’t even mind doing hand work, but machine finishing is also possible, so I’m ready to experiment some more.

And I don’t hang on to things and spread them out over several posts. I put it all out there at once, because I’m usually working on several things at once. These fabrics are selected for one more example of a “pattern” I’m going to have in a magazine article.

As you may know, my “patterns” are not really matchy-matchy specific, but rather a set of directions for a design process. I need to get at this now, so I can get it done and all sent in.

There you have it–all the stuff I’m working on, as well as a little knitting in the evenings in front of the TV. If I don’t end up posting for a few days, you can make a guess as to why! But once again, the joy of retirement is that I have the time to spend on all of this…I’m so happy!

10 thoughts on “Theme, Series or Unimaginative?

  1. Hi Kathy, I vote for the 2 layers of black tulle. Now onto that stripped fabric…..I WANT some of that. Also a friend of mine is interested. Do you know who the designer/manufacture is? Is it a batik? How long ago did you buy it? If you are like me, you picked it up, who knows where or when. But it was calling you to take it home.
    Thanks
    Sarah

    Like

    • Your vote is hereby noted! And the fabric is a batik that I got at my local quilt store within the last couple of months…that bolt was gone quickly! I don’t know the manufacturer, but there are other colors in the line, still at the store, so I can find out and let you know.

      Like

  2. Years ago I did round robin art quilts. One of my pieces came back with a pre-printed panel inserted into the middle of what was a beautiful piece before the last round. The pre-printed panel did not go with anything else in the design, not even the colors. I was able to save the piece by placing a colored organza over the panel and quilting the daylights out of it. I have since used colored organza over pieced areas to tone them down or change the colors. Maybe trying a colored organza instead of the tulle will give the background trees the look you are going for.

    Glitz and Crap Sister

    Like

    • I looked at organza when I was at the fabric store, but I had tulle in my brain so organza didn’t register. When I get to the larger store with lots of choices, that will be one of my NEW considerations. I’ve had a lot to think about for such a small piece! Thanks for the suggestion.

      Like

  3. First off – love your color/texture combo for your “pattern”. Then: I vote for the 2 layers of black tulle. I like the air of mystery it lends and the fact that the base layer is less obscured than when using the white tulle. I like being able to see more tree detail on all levels and think the black tulle will give you a better platform for further additions. I am now inspired to get upstairs to my own studio and do the drawing I’ve been procrastinating over…..

    Like

    • My first thought was definitely to use the two layers of black tulle, but I’ve had a few suggestions made that are making me think hard before I go ahead and finish. I’m pretty sure it will be black, rather than white, but I go back and forth a lot before I make final decisions! It’s not like this is the only fabric I have, for goodness sake…I sometimes just have a hard time making that final commitment.

      Like

  4. Happy is such a good thing! BTW I love the 4 layer of white tulle-it resolves the image for me and I understand it better. Love your attitude-I’m with you: just go forward and keeping working!

    Like

    • I’m getting quite a few suggestions and all are different! Lots of stuff to think about before I make a final decision. Glad I have some other obligations this weekend to keep me out of the studio and more time to think about which direction I want to go!

      Like

    • I’d love to be able to tell more about them, but the process is being developed by a friend into a possible book. We were just the testers! I feel like there are tons of possibilities for her and I really like the finished product. I’ll let you know as more is available!

      Like

Comments are closed.