Time or Lack Thereof…

As we head into the holiday season, I worry about the people who face it with dread. I don’t necessarily like all the work involved in holiday meals (because I really don’t much like to cook!) but I sure enjoy the family time that goes with them. So many families fall apart under the stress of family get-togethers, planning, shopping, gift-giving…I saw it reflected so many times with the behavior of the children with whom I worked for so many years. I feel bad, I worry, but essentially there is nothing I can do.

Well, maybe a little something. I can be extra pleasant to the people with whom I interact…the grocery store staff, waitstaff at restaurants, clerks in the stores where I shop, other shoppers, even co-workers I didn’t much like before my retirement! I can have patience and keep my sense of humor. I can remember how much love there is in my family and hold it close to my heart when stress comes strolling by.

No one has more hours in a day than anyone else. We have to make do with what we can with each of those 24 hours, each day. I am choosing to retain good spirits and try to pass that attitude on to others.

It helps that I can take time to work in my studio–that refreshes my spirit.

It helps that I can see or talk to my family and know how deeply we care about each other–that refreshes my soul.

It helps that I can get a kiss or hug from my grandson–that refreshes my heart.

I wish these kinds of blessings on all of you, in any way in which you can obtain them.

Each of us can surely find some joy in our 24 hours each day. Find it and keep it close for those times when we especially need it.

2 thoughts on “Time or Lack Thereof…

Comments are closed.