Old Faithful Died…Again!

My irons have generally lasted a long time, in spite of hard water, fusibles, dropping and constant lava heat settings. My latest one died yesterday–of course as I was working on a project with a deadline!

I do have a backup that I truly keep just in case of this situation. It’s not that old and it’s quite heavy, but I don’t put water in it and it’s here when I need it. Thanks, Backup!

My dependable backup!

An immediate replacement for the deader-than-a-doornail-iron was urgent. Look at this cute little beauty that I picked up.

Isn't she cute?

Lightweight, variable steam, non-stick soleplate and does not have that stupid retractable cord that I hate! And best of all, it was cheap!!!! Under $20 cheap. I’m in bargain hunter’s heaven! I plugged it in today and it even worked. So all is well on the essential iron front once again. Whew! Crisis averted!

And I finally am calling this piece finished. I’m not sure what else I would do to it to be completely happy with it. To be honest, I’m not sure I will ever completely like it. These were the fabrics we got from our last challenge at my wacky group and after seeing a few of the other projects, I liked mine even less. Well, it is what it is and I’m moving on and away from this piece.

Good Fences Make Good Neighbors

Our next group meeting is our Christmas pot luck. Since we have moved our meetings to mornings, this should be interesting to see what everyone brings for a brunch pot luck!

Lots of work to do today and here I sit, playing on the computer and drinking coffee! I do have such a sweet life, though!

 

5 thoughts on “Old Faithful Died…Again!

  1. Just discovered your blog and I love it and your quilting! But..oh, that iron is darling! What brand is this and where did you find it. I’ve been sewing with a travel iron since my good iron broke and my backup started burping. Yes, Santa needs to get me one of these irons if he knew where to find it! I’

    Like

    • All right, I’ll break down and give the brand name. I don’t usually do that until I’ve tried something for a long while and I’m sure I love it, but this is Hamilton Beach and I found it at Meijer’s (I’m in Michigan, so you may have a different shopping location!).

      Like

  2. My sympathies on your loss…. What is the brand of your new cutie? I experienced the same thing recently and just blasted over to Wal Mart and got a cheap Black and Decker and I love it also! My Rowenta Professional lasted maybe 5 yrs, but took 2 yrs to die slowly, spitting and leaking just often enough to be annoying.

    Like

Comments are closed.