Decisions…not easy for me

But when I finally make a decision, I go for it! My magenta background that I talked about here is now married to the fabric with magenta leaves.

I’m not sure where else I’m going with it, but I’m committed now! I have that yarn I showed you that has all these same colors. And, of course, I have lots of beads. Over the top and extravagant are never hard for me. It’s showing restraint that is difficult.

Detail shot here:

The orange and green really make this piece a zinger. All the colors are very intense and I just don’t think there is anything that will cool it down. I plan on making curvy edges, probably couched with the silk yarn. I know this will surprise you, but I also have some other skeins of variegated yarn that would work as well!

Committed—I don’t think that’s the same as certifiable! But sometimes after I make a decision and act on it, I start to question myself. I am committed…I will press on!

13 thoughts on “Decisions…not easy for me

  1. All artists have these same questions. When do I walk away and say, “it is enough.” The biggest sin we all struggle with is overworking our composition. No one has a rule that says, “time to stop.” That usually happens after we commit the sin. But with fiber art, you can more easily correct the situation. So, just go for it.

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouragement…I really feel like I may have made this too intense to begin with and now I do need to make corrections. But I had a long drive home from a workshop today and I think I may have some ideas to try. My ‘time to stop’ is usually when everything is totally overdone, so when you start out that way, what can you hurt?

      Like

Comments are closed.