Does It Hurt Your Eyes?

When I started this piece, it was intended for a totally different purpose. While I was making it, I didn’t think it was as intense as it turned out to be. I really liked it, but it was hard to figure out what to do with it.

Last week I made some choices and inserted strips of a favorite lime green fabric and then it sat, waiting for inspiration.

Finally, I had a vision of what I wanted it to become and I started in on the details. I had a mental picture of a big old droopy tree with some lime green leaves hanging here and there. My problem was how to make the tree visible against that intense magenta and have it integrate with the deep colors at the same time.

I took it to my Wacky Group for suggestions on how to get my tree image onto the background. I was totally less than confident in my ability to draw, and of course the first suggestion was to just get a piece of chalk and draw it on! Other suggestions included drawing it first on tissue paper, or using my overhead projector with a drawing to trace, or creating it on a water soluble stabilizer and then applying it and washing out the stabilizer.

After deciding that I would be making the tree out of a skein of recycled silk yarn, I ruled out the stabilizer suggestion. You can’t really safely wash that yarn after it’s already on your quilt, unless you are in the mood for surprises!

I finally just picked up a piece of chalk and drew the tree on the background! It took me a while to realize that chalk will just brush off if my drawing wasn’t perfect the first try…duh!! Lack of confidence sometimes hangs on the silliest of blocks!

Here's the first yarn, outlining the tree

I did apply interfacing before I started couching on the yarn, since the yarn was so thick and I knew from experience that it would be better that way. I had so much fun building this tree! It turned out exactly the way I wanted it to be and now I can’t wait to continue on with the quilting and adding the leaves…which I will probably add on beaded strings. A few beads within the body of the tree trunk should spark it up a little…and I want a lot of quilting to make the tree stand out.

Detail as I added more yarn to the tree trunk

In the end, I hope it’s interesting and not a piece that will feel like your eyes are being put out!!!

Some leaves that will be by the base of the tree

If I were a good blogger, I would wait until the whole piece was finished and then make posts that spread out over several days outlining the whole project from start to finish. However, I blog as I work on things and sometimes there are gaps in posts about a particular project while I work on it. I guess that makes me a lifestyle blogger, not a good storyteller! Or maybe my blog is just as interrupted and distracted as my real life….yeah, that’s it…real life blogging!

7 thoughts on “Does It Hurt Your Eyes?

    • I’m not sure if there is enough contrast yet from across the room. I’m going to quilt it and add the leaves and then decide if I need to add more to the tree…we’ll see! I want enough contrast from across the room to draw ’em in to look at the detail.

      Like

  1. Oh I much prefer real life blogging! I must confess your photos of the beginnnings of this quilt made me wonder where you were going with this one. Now I am loving the tree-keep us posted!

    Like

    • I’m still wondering a little about where I’m going with it, but I’m headed there full speed ahead! This is one that I think will never photograph too well but it doesn’t look bad in person.

      Like

Comments are closed.