Simply working…

Spent a lovely couple of days at the quilt retreat, but I decided not to include any pics of ladies in pj’s sitting at their machines! You all know how it goes at a retreat…and, of course, we all ate too much from the snack table! Yummmmm!

What I also did not take a picture of was my first effort at caging this cabachon–it was really bad. And I love this little bit of rock so I re-did it and I’m so much happier with it.

I’ll be adding a bunch of other stuff to this small piece, but it was the problem with the cabachon that kept me awake until it was solved! Good thing there is no sleep requirement at retreat.

My magenta and lime tree project got all quilted, too. The lime green leaves aren’t on it yet and I think I’ll be adding some more yarn, but I feel like huge progress was made.

Details...

Details...

I took enough projects to last about three weeks, but didn’t really work on that many. I spent a good bit of time on this beaded project. I had a hard time finding beads the right color, so when I finally did, I was excited to get it finished.

This 9 x 11 size is a good working size for me, not too small. I think there will be a lot of projects this size before I move on. Here’s a detail of this project, too. I’m loving being able to display these beautiful stones.

The next few days will be getting organized for my next teaching trip. I’m always afraid that I won’t give enough to my students…is that normal teacher anxiety? I love it when I’m actually in there teaching though! Can’t wait for that.

Tomorrow…..organizing. Yuck!

9 thoughts on “Simply working…

  1. Thanks for sharing your work, and I appreciate the instruction book suggestions above. I wonder if you add your bead embellishments before or after you do the free-motion quilting on the tops? It looks like the cabochons are added last…but the other beading?

    Like

    • I do my beading after my quilting in almost all projects because you can’t quilt much over top of the beads. I add a back after the quilting. If possible, I quilt a bit more in places to hold the layers together and on larger pieces that’s usually easy. On smaller pieces, I fuse a back to the piece and then finish the edges.

      Like

    • Still highly recommend Beading on Fabric by Larkin Van Horn and Bead It Like You Mean It by Lyric Kinard…those have been my best sources for beading instruction…and I had a wonderful retreat!

      Like

  2. I think I may practice making on cages on clay beads or other roundish shaped elements for a while. I can always use them in my mixed media pieces. I need to learn the basics. Yours look great, by the way. Retreats are for fun, even if it is work.

    Like

    • The round shapes are definitely easier! And it’s no fun to remove a cage and re-do it, but my learning curve is getting better! And it seems that everything done at a retreat, even work, is more fun, just because you are with the other ladies!

      Like

  3. Love love that caged cabachon! I too constantly consider whether I can improve what I pass on to my students-I always feel like I need more time.

    Like

Comments are closed.