The Results Are In…

Somehow I thought I had done more pieces than this, but I guess I was chatting a bit too much!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some vibrancy was lost after final rinsing and washing, but most of it will remain unaltered! I want to try a few things with next weeks dye day on a couple of them. I play with dyes, where some people play with paints. I’ve not been happy with paints, so I don’t play with them enough to get better at them. A vicious cycle of ignoring products and practice that could actually benefit my art! Maybe next time…

14 thoughts on “The Results Are In…

  1. You got some very nice results. I think that I always get better color when using the dyes, and the hand of the fabric is not as stiff as with paint. However, both can produce interesting pieces.

    Like

    • These were also dyed starting with wet fabric, which always makes the colors blend together more. I’m getting some fabric ready for this weeks dye day, but I’m going to start with all dry fabric today. I’m eager to see the direct comparison while it’s still fresh enough for me to remember what I did with what! I DO NOT keep notes like professionals dyers do, and really don’t care about ‘repeatable results’.

      Like

  2. The next to the last slide looks like the view of a lobster just before getting into boiling water. I just love hand dyes. I love using my imagination to see what I can uncover in the fabric. Sometimes they spark an idea for a new quilt.

    Like

    • Most of my ideas are sparked by the fabric I’m looking at, whether commercial or hand dyed, so I know what you mean by seeing what you can uncover in the fabric. And I love everything about dyeing *except* waiting to rinse things out!

      Like

  3. You have some really nice pieces there. I love the one with all the colors (red, gold, black and blue). The right side looks like a space ship coming in for a landing! Never thought of hanging and using the hose to get the color out.

    Like

    • I don’t usually hang and rinse either, but it was really hot out and the grandson loves to play with the hose! Killing two birds with one stone, and I got a good look at each piece, too! I’m already planning which ones will be targeted for overdyeing this week!

      Like

Comments are closed.