Kits and Plans

Starting putting together bead kits for a class I’m going to be teaching. We’re going to be making Christmas ornaments, so I have a large container of a Christmas mix. It just feels so good to plunge my hand into that pile of beads and mix them up. If you love the texture and feel of soft fabrics, you would love the feel of beads…like silk and a massage at the same time!

I also have a project for one of my nieces…oops! It’s a surprise so I can’t show you. I find, though, that even having the project totally planned out, I’m hesitating to begin. I’m going to be fusing and I just don’t want to mess it up with a poorly placed element. I know…I know…keep the iron away from it until I have everything just the way I want it. Still…

I picked up some wool bits and pieces at the quilt show. Playing with my felting machine is high on my list of games this month! There is also a local shop that carries roving so I picked up some luscious balls of fluff to add to the pile. I know so little about it and want to add it confidently to my toolbox.

Doesn’t this look soft and luxurious?

And I’ve finally made a decision about the piece I started from the scrap box. I am putting “borders” on the top and bottom only. I feel like the colorful part of the piece needs to go through the center, and not be stopped at a side border. It will have uneven sides, not straight and I’m excited to get it quilted now. And I believe it’s another piece that will NOT need any beadwork. We’ll see…you know how much I love to add beads!

Which is better–this way up?

–or this way up?

Now I’d better get my hands out of the bead box and start beading those samples!

