Pictures? What pictures?

I am so totally hopeless when it comes to taking pictures of my activities! We started our day Saturday at the John C. Campbell Folk School Festival. The school is set among beautiful rolling hills in a mountain valley. A jewel of a setting.

We thought we were getting there early, right when it was starting at 10 AM. HA! I’ve never seen so much traffic on those winding mountain roads, but it didn’t take very long for the festival pros to get us into their hilly parking areas. Picture? Uh, no…

The vendor booths were set up all along the paths through the woods. Felt like I imagine a Middle Ages Faire would be, with all the little tents and demos of things like wood carving and blacksmithing. The school’s workshops and studios were open with demos going on and there was music on a couple of stages. There were pony rides and live alpacas and spinning and weaving…it was just a great festival, dedicated to the art of the handcrafter. Picture? Uh, no…

We were able to purchase some things like hand forged marshmallow roasting forks and beautifully dyed fleece and roving. Beautiful, beautiful items throughout the festival, in a beautiful setting. Pictures? Uh, no…!!!

But I can highly recommend attending this festival if you can be anywhere in the area on the first weekend of October.

And check out all the classes taught at this school…wonderful! I’m hoping to be one of the instructors in 2014, too. I’ll keep you informed if that becomes a reality–I’ll probably shout it from the rooftops. In the meantime, I’ll try to develop better picture habits!

10 thoughts on “Pictures? What pictures?

  1. I know that taking pictures can get to be a drag, but people do like to see what you do. I love pictures on Facebook. It helps me to keep up with what is going on in the lives of loved ones and friends. So, maybe you can develop the habit if you think of it that way.

    Like

    • I keep trying to develop that habit–I like blogs with pictures, too! I just get so wrapped up in what I’m doing that I forget to grab that camera out of my pocket or purse and snap a few pics! If I keep reminding myself often enough, maybe the habit really will develop eventually.

      Like

  2. Loved the photos of the fiber art at the Kentucky Artisan Center in Berea. While you were gone I checked out the classes at the John Campbell center for the arts – they look wonderful! Only one class missing: YOURS! I will eagerly await to see what comes for you in 2014. A nasty virus which led to a nasty upper respiratory infection has delayed my completion of the wall hanging begun in your wonderful class at the Quilt Patch. I will send a photo once it is completed – no telling when that great day will occur!

    Like

    • I’m certainly hopeful that I will be teaching at the Folk School in 2014. I really want to! I hope you get a chance to finish your wall hanging soon. Those viruses are rotten! Can’t wait to see your finished project.

      Like

  3. It sounds like a wonderful way to spend the weekend! I’m also terrible at taking photos – spent the weekend at beautiful old mansions and haven’t taken a single decent photo even though I had my camera in my bag the entire time so I could 🙂

    Like

    • It’s a great festival and beautiful old mansions sound like a wonderful way to spend time, too! But I sure feel foolish when I get all done and haven’t taken any pictures!!

      Like

  4. I love that you are so bad at taking pictures. Me too. Last weekend I wanted to take a picture of me with all of my grand kids while everyone was here. Did that happen. Nope. Forgot all about it. See you Wednesday!

    Like

Comments are closed.