What are my options?

I always ask this question when it comes to finishing details. I rarely know in advance what finishing details will make me happy with a piece. Today I’ve been working on those little painted pieces from last week’s paint ‘party’.

I want to have some small items to put in this weekend’s Holiday Open House downtown. So, I have them all beaded, a touch of quilting to attach the felt backing and a bright edging.

They’re cute, but really nothing more than beaded potholders right now! Really! I thought I would mount them on foamcore board with a little thread hanger for a bit more presence.

Options kick in here…do I just glue them to the foamcore and call it good? Do I sew them to the board? I still have a hard time with permanent stuff like gluing because that requires a permanent decision that I won’t want to use them for something else later! I know that’s silly, because the idea is to have small, cute items to sell, so I won’t have them anymore!

So here’s my problem with that option now. They will look fine from the front, but this is how little cut squares of foamcore look from the side and I’m not too sure I like it…and I don’t know what the options are for that.

Does it matter? Is anyone going to care but me? I just feel like it’s unprofessional looking. Maybe I need to cut them with a different tool, but usually I manage to make any ‘knife’ cut worse.

I’m just not seeing my options today for this final detail. If you have any suggestions, please clue  me in! I need some good ideas and they are not currently coming out of my brain!

8 thoughts on “What are my options?

  1. Depends on the end use. If they will hang from a tree, I would just fuse on a piece of felt. If mounted on a wall, I would fuse them to a small canvas. I agree, that edge looks unfinished.

    Like

    • I’m thinking on one of those small wooden easels or a cubicle quilt. They are just big enough 6 x 6 or so, that they need a little additional support. I have lots of matboard, which I didn’t think of yesterday, so I think a 1″ border all around, attach with a couple beads in each corner, a little fishline to hang from…haven’t got one done, yet, but I think they will look fine that way.

      Like

  2. I agree that glue would be a last option, as it will “brown through” in a few years. If the foam core is not archival, then I would suggest a smaller piece of archival matting between the fabric and the foam core. Then, with a large eyed needle and embroidery floss, blanket stitch the fabric pieces through the foam core. (You may need to use a pair of pliers). …or add on an extra strip of fabric that would reach to the back (bias tape?) and use linen tape on the back like framers use. What did you use to cut the foam core? I use a brand new blade in my box/matt cutter on a self-healing cutting mat, and cut against a heavy duty 4 foot long carpenter’s T square from Home Depot or Lowe’s….hope this helps….

    Like

    • Archival and these pieces really aren’t on the same page. They are simply little Christmas decorations, but I want them to look professional, not “homemade”. I have cut foamcore with paper cutters, rotary cutters, exacto knives, always use rulers or squares and still get rough edges…I’m ready to try dental floss or a wet noodle! Maybe I’ll try matboard…

      Like

  3. I use a lot of Peltex and Timtex. I am working right now on some small pieces that I mounted onto the black peltex. It comes in white also. I do finish the edges with a satin stitch.

    Like

    • I beaded on a stabilizer, not as thick as Peltex and then quilted to felt and finished the edges with cording. They look nice, but I just feel like they need something *more*…and I don’t know what!

      Like

Comments are closed.