OMG! There’s been a fabric explosion!

I just barely touched it…it was an accident…really!! I was only reaching for a little piece of binding that was hanging over the edge. And then the next basket kind of slid off the shelf from the weight of all the fabric overflowing it…the basket in the middle stayed safely on the shelf but fabric seemed to jump out of it trying to join the rest on the floor.

Scrap Explosion

Oh, my…how did all that fabric fit into those little baskets?

I think I can see a need to sort scraps and use some of them up.

And I’d better not go down there and find that they have multiplied in the dark! That would be really scary!

15 thoughts on “OMG! There’s been a fabric explosion!

  1. LOL! Too funny! Just moments before I wrote this reply, I was upstairs in my tiny sewing room, sorting through the ubiquitous bins. And I mean – BINS! Not only do I sew 80% of my own clothing, but I also crazy quilt. On top of that – two old ladies at my former church went on to their reward – and bequeathed me their fabric hoards!!

    Your pile looks like an infant morass, with full potential for growth into something that resembles the Gargantua living here. But you have a long, long way to go. I made rugs for the mud room, donated boxes and boxes to Salvation Army and a local Theater group – and still wound up with 20 completely full bins! I planning on starting a blog very soon, ( if I don’t succumb to the task first) and will share the strategy. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • I’ve been trying to downsize my fabric stash for several years now, but I can’t ever seem to get ahead of it! I’d probably do better if I didn’t keep buying new fabric, making new fabric and then opening up the scrap bins! I’ll take any advice you come up with!

      Like

      • Well, I can give you my basic plan. When the blog is up and running, there will be pics.

        1) All wovens from 1/2 yard – 5 yards are made into mini- bolts, with comic book backer boards., and will be shelved, by color. So pretty.

        2) smaller pieces and irregular, but still valuable (velvets and satins) which I use for crazy quilts and applique, are divided by color, into smaller cube storage, with pull out bins, I haven’t decided on exactly what kind of bins yet. I like the coated wire ones, because it shows off the fabulous colors, but little pieces can fall out!

        3) large yardages, stretchy knits, (lots of Georgette) and things I have garments already planned for, are rolled and stacked on closet shelf at eye level – so I don’t forget I have it!!!!!

        I already have corralled all the lace, ribbon, embroidery floss, bindings, threads, and buttons. Just wait! It’s going to be great! (so I keep telling myself) (Don’t ask me about the 100’s of patterns. . . I’m still in prayer about that)
        ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • Thanks for the tips–I can tell that I have nowhere near what you are dealing with, so maybe my downsizing has been better than I thought! I gave up sewing clothing years ago so I don’t have anything to deal with in that arena–one area down! Lots more to go.

          Like

  2. Yup, it’s a known fact that fabric that sits together, multiplies together. However, I want to see the containers all of that was in. I think you may have solved the problem of two pieces of matter occupying the same place!

    Like

    • Simple little cloth baskets, not very big…I may have arms with major compression strength to smash it all down into them! But now that it’s all out, I feel compelled to DO something with it!!!

      Like

  3. This is why my husband wants my sewing room upstairs!!! Nothing stays put away. How are we to create when everything is hidden away? I enjoy this blog so much…

    Like

    • Resist that notion with all your might! I’ve always had my studio in a basement space (like the whole basement!) so nothing has to be put away. If it’s your presence he desires, I always have handwork by my chair and join hubby and family during the evenings. I know that I could never work where things had to be put away or kept out of sight!

      Like

Comments are closed.