Quilt As You Go

Yesterday was spent finishing the quilting on the three sections of my Scrapbox City project. I had so much thread breakage and skipped stitching on the machine that I use for quilting that I just walked away for a while in frustration. After all the problem solving solutions that I know to try, I finally came to the conclusion that that machine just does not like that thread. I’m about ready to declare that machine a paperweight, except that when it works, it’s so wonderful! Okay–enough griping! Between my two machines, the quilting is done.

QAYG2

I kept my quilting quite simple. Spiral boxes in the “buildings” and straight lines on the white background.

QAYG3

Now it’s time to join the sections using the Quilt As You Go technique, as shown by Marianne at The Quilting Edge. I’m joining the sections with narrow strips. The top (white) strip is 2″ wide and the back (plaid) section is 1 1/4″ wide. The length of each section is 56″, so that’s how long I cut the strips. That should prevent any unwanted stretching on the sides.

QAYG4

By the way, I’m not going to reproduce Marianne’s tutorial here. I’m just going to show you my in-progress pictures. Her tutorial is the place to go if you really want to learn this technique.

Attach both the pieces to the first section.

Join the back piece to the second section.

QAYG5

Press front and back. And this shows that tiny little gap when the seam allowances should be meeting. I’ll take a tiny bit more generous 1/4″ seam allowance on the next one. I used quite a few pins at every step, just to be sure my edges lined up top and bottom.

QAYG6

Press the front section over and topstitch. This is what the front and back look like when they are joined this way.

QAYG1

I quilted a couple of additional lines right down that front section and you can barely tell where the sections are joined…back, too!

Repeat for as many sections as you have!

QAYG7

Ready to bind!!

What did I learn? It’s just as easy to join big sections as it is smaller blocks, but it’s harder to get accurate squaring up with long pieces. That fabric can stretch a lot but it’s also forgiving when you need it to be! That this made quilting so much easier, because I could do it in small sections. That if I wanted to add more to this, it would be easy to do. That I love this technique and I’ll be doing more of it! It’s integrated into the design and that’s what makes me like this technique over many of the others that are out there.
Please give it a try and I really want to thank Melody Johnson at Fibermania and Marianne at The Quilting Edge for introducing me to this technique!

I’m linking this to Nina-Marie’s blog, too.

8 thoughts on “Quilt As You Go

  1. I love the colors + white combo in your buildings! Sorry your machine was such a pain, I’ve given up on some threads with mine too (for quilting). Makes me sad but just not worth the struggle to me.

    Like

    • Thanks-I never use white, so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this one. And I just hate having to give up on some threads–I want to be able to use everything in every machine!

      Like

  2. I love the quilt as you go method and was just toying with the idea for a quilt I am currently working on but decided to just put it together the traditional way this time. I think if I had read this first it might have pushed me over the edge to quilt as you go! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. I have been following Melody for a long time, but I am not a traditional quilter and have been afraid to try this. However, I may give it a try. You should teach this method. You can always give credit to the right places.

    Like

Comments are closed.