My Eight Day Week

That title has nothing to do with my actual week. It’s just the title of the piece that’s been hanging around my design wall for a couple of months. I finally had time today to get back to the studio to finish it. Well, the top at least. It’s not very big. About 36 x 48.

I finally decided to use the orange fabric for the extra blocks, but I took the suggestion in the comments of  Judy Spahn, who thought a secondary design behind the black and white would be good. Here’s how I implemented that…

My first thought was to make curvy lines with bias strips, but then I couldn’t decide on black, white or a print. Finally remembered how much I love cording, and how easy it is, so that’s what I went with.

First white.

Eight Days1

Then black.

Eight Days2

Here it is assembled before I went into the border decision trauma phase! I auditioned quite a few fabrics, combinations of piping and borders and went back to the original premise–keep it simple!

Eight Days3

I’m quite happy with how it turned out and now just need to answer the how-in-the-#*##-do-I-quilt-it dilemna! But that’s actually just fun to figure out, no matter how much I complain about deciding on that.

Eight Days4

Here’s a detail of the cording, just because…

Eight Days5

I’m linking this to Nina-Marie’s Off the Wall Friday. Check out everyone’s work for this week.

