Oldie but still loved…

One of my shelves holds 19 quilt tops that I have finished over the years. They are class samples, other people’s patterns and designs, made in   order to teach some important-at-the-time technique or concept. I don’t really have any emotional attachment to them, but I liked them when I made them and I still do.

Moon batik2

I decided about a year ago that I will never, ever do the quilting on all of them myself, just because of that lack of emotional attachment. I sent one out last fall, but it’s an upcoming gift so no picture of it here right now. I sent my second one out and just put the binding on it today.

Moon batik

Still love this pattern and love this quilt. Very happy that I did not have to do the quilting on it. Must have been a good decision to have someone else do that work for me!

Hubby and I sleep under raggedy quilts on our bed. He says it’s embarrassing in a quilter’s household and I agree. Looks like I’d better go through that stack and get some more of those quilts DONE! And this quilter is not embarrassed to say that she does NOT do all her own quilting anymore! Looking forward to that shelf of quilts being empty and filling up a shelf in the linen closet with finished quilts.

This is linked to Off the Wall Friday with Nina-Marie. Check out the other quilters–some great stuff there!

12 thoughts on “Oldie but still loved…

  1. What is the name of that pattern? Is it from a book? I loved it when it was hanging in the shop but the day I asked about it the person said the pattern was only available in the class. Then someone else told me no it was an actual pattern but they couldn’t remember what it was called but thought it was in a book. Of course the quilt was no longer hanging there when I went in to see about buying the book/pattern. I was never able to get to a class either because of work. I have sent my bigger quilts out for quite a while now. Most long arm quilters are very talented and reasonably priced for what they give you. You want heirloom you have to pay for that but it’s labor intense for sure. I, like you just decided I wanted them done.

    Like

    • Don’t know the name of the pattern. I saw it in an exhibit and figured it out. Don’t know if I still have all the notes, but I’ll look for you. And DONE is a very good thing!

      On Tue, Jun 11, 2013 at 12:04 PM, Quirks Ltd.

      Like

  2. So many quilts are nice or pretty but nothing special but there is something about this quilt that makes me want to stop and visit it for a while. And your comment about quilting has got me thinking. I sort of stopped making quilts and just do art quilts because I hate the finishing. There I said it! Whew Maybe I will attempt another quilt soon and not be so concerned if someone else does the quilting. It’s better than having the thing sit in a closet for 10 years.

    Like

    • That’s how I feel…those tops are just fine, but useless sitting on the shelf. I don’t care enough about them to quilt them myself, but I really liked them when I made them. So, I’m sure I’ll love them again when they are useful!

      Like

  3. What’s not to like. Anyone would love to have these as gifts. I am not a traditional quilter, but I do appreciate traditional quilts; especially those done with more contemporary patterns.

    Like

  4. I really love this quilt. So simple, but fabrics are exquisite, both in texture , value
    and color combinations. Sometimes a very easy design creates the most gorgeous finished surface. Are these batiks?

    Like

    • This was made with all batiks and I really love it, too. I just don’t do this stuff anymore and have no interest in quilting them myself, so I’m very happy to get them finished.

      Like

Comments are closed.