Orange on Orange

Today was a very hot one. Went for a walk early today and spent most of the time walking from shady spot to shady spot and avoiding the sunny streets! Perfect day to sit home in the air conditioning and un-sew.

Absolutely hated the lines of stitching I did in my orange blocks. Black lines echoing the cording on each block, but not evenly spaced and not flowing well. At first I thought just adding more lines would cure it or doing the lines with the walking foot. My hands would not obey those thoughts and I just couldn’t do it.

8 day quilting3

I spent a good part of the day picking out the black thread lines. It takes so much longer to un-sew than it does to lay down those lines! But I knew the black had to go…

8 day quilting4

Going…going…gone!

Here’s where the orange on orange comes in…it just seemed like the absolute obvious answer! Make the orange background recede just like the white background…duh! Not sure I’ll get to it today, but it’s the first thing on my agenda for the studio tomorrow!

It feels good to have a solution to this puzzle.

What do you think?

8 day orange4

8 day orange3

8 thoughts on “Orange on Orange

  1. It looks like the time you spent picking out threads will be worth it. Your quilting so far has added so much to this piece. I am liking it more and more.

    Like

    • Yes, that black on orange was just awful. Well worth it to pick it out! Much happier with the orange on orange!

      On Mon, Jun 24, 2013 at 11:46 PM, Quirks Ltd.

      Like

    • Well, if it’s ever hanging somewhere, it will not be missed, that’s for sure! High contrast in the essential elements and low contrast within those elements–it’s working!

      On Mon, Jun 24, 2013 at 10:33 AM, Quirks Ltd.

      Like

  2. Even though this was a painful exercise, it really was a good design study, wasn’t it. You are really on the right track now. Most of the time we would think of orange coming forward as a warm color, but see how the white contrast changes it’s role.

    Like

    • You are so right. Painful but helpful…I never plan ahead with a project and this one could have used some planning. Took a lot more thought than I imagined! Thinking too much hurts, but I’m happy with the result!

      Like

Comments are closed.