Peyote Stitch Kinda Learned

My first peyote stitch cabachon cage was NOT successful. I tried to fix it by reducing the number of beads in a round and by adding extra rounds of those tiny size 15 beads. Big failure!

So, it was rip-it-out-time and I started all over. I made sure that my largest beads were on the bottom round and worked up with smaller beads. I am still amazed at the difference in size in 3 colors of beads all labeled size 11. And when you are working with small beads, that little bit of difference DOES matter.

This third round is where I first noticed the problem on the first try. I could see immediately that on this second try, everything was so much better. Those beads are forming a nice snug cage around that stone! Hooray!

Cab beading 1

After adding the darkest color of “size 11” beads and 2 rows of those size 15 teeny, tiny beadies, I finally have a cage that fits perfectly around my stone. Hooray, hooray! I DID IT!

Cab 2

Now to try it again, just to make sure that it’s a trick I can repeat!

8 thoughts on “Peyote Stitch Kinda Learned

    • I’ve seen some fancier finishes, too, and I don’t even want to get into those yet! I have some smaller stones that I’m going to practice on first.

      On Thu, Sep 12, 2013 at 10:21 PM, Quirks Ltd.

      Like

    • This class was fun because all the basics were assumed and we went on to cool stitches and options. Her handouts were very good, as always and I’ll be happy to share with you and show you what we did!

      On Thu, Sep 12, 2013 at 12:08 PM, Quirks Ltd.

      Like

  1. This is really a neat talent. Makes me want to seek out some beads and directions and give it a try….but it may have to wait a bit….for life seems to be in the way right now.

    Like

Comments are closed.