Hoarder’s Dirty Secret Revealed!

A tabloid headline, for sure! Right? Actually, it’s just that I have finally realized that deep down, I don’t like using up any of my fabric because I’m in love with color and never want to be completely done with any piece of fabric. If I cut it up, sew it up, use it up, then it’s gone and I don’t get to admire it anymore. So…what do I do?

dye june 14 5

I was piecing a quilt back today and I almost put a beautiful piece of fabric back on the shelf rather than cut into it! I contemplated buying more fabric rather than using up that piece. And it’s a quilt that I’m keeping for myself. How silly of me! That’s how I became a fabric hoarder.

I’m on a mission to do better. I’ve bought fat quarters or small yardage for years, trying to reduce my stash. That only means I end up buying more ’cause I never have a big piece when I need it!

Stash

My goal is to use enough fabric to completely empty 2 shelves of the stash…because I just bought all that wool and I need the space, badly!

This hoarder has a problem…I’m also determined to work on solving it!

16 thoughts on “Hoarder’s Dirty Secret Revealed!

  1. Kathy, you are a beginner if that is your stash. I could give all that away, and never miss it. What you really need are some big plastic storage boxes, that will fit into whatever space is still available.

    Like

    • Noooooo–I have been trying to limit my stash for 10 *years*. This is all the further I have been able to reduce—still more than I can use in my lifetime. PLUS the 200 yards of wool that are not in the photo. PLUS the drawers and wardrobe and plastic bins that are across the room from the photo with yarn and beads. PLUS the paints and stencils and stamps and dyes on another set of shelves. I REALLY need to vigorously reduce my stuff…really, really, really!

      Like

  2. The piece of fabric in the top picture is gorgeous! I wouldn’t be able to cut it, but would use it as a whole piece. Did you dye it yourself?

    Like

    • Yes, that’s some of my hand dyeing and I have lots in that “style” that I’m not quite sure what to do with! Not a fan of using it for the backs of quilts, which is the usual suggestion! I’m sure the right idea will come along some day…

      Like

  3. Too funny! Who among us has not done that- bought a piece rather than use the “special” fabric? I vow every time I have to move the pile of fabric that won’t fit on the shelves to get to my stash never to buy more.

    Like

  4. If that’s all you have … You’re untouched by the hoarding gene!!!
    Mine is all organized, but Waaaaay more than yours. When I have my fabric giveaway parties with my friends, the basket drawers that are full simply BREATH and expand..

    Like

    • I know that my scrap baskets have exploded when I’ve reached into them! Mine is only generally organized, but every time I go to the shelves, I find things I had forgotten I had! Too much stuff…

      Like

  5. It seems like my problems are being resoved with my current course of printing my own fabrics. Hardly ever buy anything but PFD or white muslin. I just print it, dye it, or paint it up for a project when needed. I still have quite a few commercial fabrics in my stash, but not like I used to.

    Like

    • Now that only added to my problems, when I started dyeing, printing and painting my own. I’d like to move to only that, but I just loooove commercial fabrics! I may just be doomed, but I’m gonna keep trying!

      Like

  6. I completely understand what you are saying here! I recently moved after living in the same house for 17 years. I had no idea how much fabric I had acquired. I did manage to part with quite a bit of it, but it was not an easy task. I discovered that having someone else there to give advice on whether to keep, donate or trash something helped immensely. Good luck on your project and on clearing your shelves!

    Like

    • I lived in my previous house for 34 years and thought I got rid of lots of stuff when we moved, but I still have way too much. It’s easy to accumulate and not so easy to use. I’m going to keep trying, though!

      Like

  7. I’ve resigned myself to being a fabric hoarder. I share, but not if it means I have to give all of a given fabric away. I do use it on backs, but I piece the back so that I don’t have to use up all of any one fabric…..and my stash has been growing from infancy, back in early ’70’s…..so it’s pretty darned big. Living way out in the country helps me not buy too much new stuff…but the temptation is huge!
    Good luck to you with changing…..I’ve given up on my doing same.

    Like

    • Oh, yes, I’ve also been hoarding since the 70’s, but I’ve gone on giveaway rampages a couple times and quit buying large amounts years ago. I still have more fabric than I will ever be able to use in my lifetime, even with piecing backs! Living close to the fabric store and having worked there for a time are not things that are good for my hoarding habits! I am going to try to use it up, though! Really I am!

      Like

Comments are closed.