Carpet Inspiration

This is the second time that I can remember being inspired by hotel carpeting. I didn’t realize that I had actually made a piece based on my first inspiration until it happened again.

Here is the first carpet inspiration:

Carpet inspirations IL 2 Carpet inspirations IL 1

Not great color or clarity, but here is the result–and it really doesn’t look like the inspiration, either. I just know in my mind how they are connected.

Carpet Inspiration 1

And here are a bunch of pics of my latest inspiration:

I’m not sure what will come of it, exactly, but I’m seeing lime green lines, stripes crossing over things, leaves and flowers and a very light background, rather than the dark blue of the carpet. There may very well be some screen printing and stenciling, too. It could take a while until it all comes together in my head, but the idea and inspiration are planted deep into my brain now.

And that’s how I get some of my inspiration…you just never know when or where it’s gonna strike!

4 thoughts on “Carpet Inspiration

  1. I love hotel inspirations. I have a sketch book full of patterns I pick up from the drapes. I have pictures of carpets too. I loved the carpet in the Holiday Inn where we stayed for the QU last year. Kind of like your leaf one a bit. Pictures of that somewhere too! The other thing I sketch or photograph are the glass partitions at restaurants. Lots of good stuff there too!

    Like

    • Sometimes I feel guilty grabbing design ideas off the products of others, but I’m not copying the products. It’s just inspiration from the world around me…maybe a love and appreciation of the beauty put ‘out there’ by those anonymous industrial designers that don’t get much acknowledgement of what they do. Beauty IS all around us!

      Like

Comments are closed.