Wool needlefelting

A needlefelting machine sits largely unused in my studio. I had to have it and thought I would use it tons and tons. Wrong! I haven’t really been super happy with the few little bits that I have tried.

So, I’m going to show you what I tried today and ask for any bit of technical advice you can give me. Maybe what I want to do can’t be done this way. I want to know that, too!

Needlefelting wool 1

Three pieces of wool that are supposed to be pre-felted. I think that the technical, correct term is fulled wool. I ran them through the needlefelter in the hope that they would merge smoothly and become one fabric.

Needlefelting wool 2

They are stuck together through the felting, but still very much three separate pieces of wool. Since the green and pink were purchased pieces, maybe they weren’t as densely felted as they could have been. You can still see the threads. Is that one issue that needs to be addressed?

Here’s a shot of the back so that you can see that the fibers are being felted through all three layers.

Needlefelting wool 3

IS there a process that will merge these fibers as wet felting does? Is there a wet felting step that will take this needle felting to the “merged” state?

I just don’t know enough and I don’t want to spend months experimenting if someone can answer the questions for me!

Can you help me out?

Linking to Off the Wall Friday.

8 thoughts on “Wool needlefelting

  1. I would say that it’s not possible to merge these three woven fabrics into one piece. Wet felting would merge them somewhat, but you would still have them looking like three separate pieces. What exactly are you trying to make, something like a pillow or something you could use in an art quilt or something like that?

    Like

    • I want them to look like 3 separate pieces and thought the needlefelting would merge them into one “structured” surface. No plan for this–just exploring working with wool.

      Like

Comments are closed.