Leftover leaves

A fused chunk of sheer fabric was leftover from another project and it jumped out at me, as scraps so often do. Scraps are feisty, you know! I wasn’t sure what it wanted me to do, so I sat down and studied it for a while.

Bright sheers 1

Stitching to hold all the pieces together seemed like the obvious first step. I auditioned glitzy threads and bright threads and dark threads, but settled for a muted dusty rose and sewed simple spirals all over the fabric.

Didn’t find any beads that needed to live on this fabric—at least not yet–but I knew that only something dark could stand up to it. Aha–stencil and paint, to the rescue. You can see the stitching on the left hand side of the picture.

Bright sheers 2

Paint–dark! But brown, green, purple, navy, rust? Decided on basic black and it looks good to me!

Bright sheers 3

This is as far as I got today. I think more simple stitching over the tree branches will be enough to finish this piece, and no beads. You never know, though. Glitz always tries to creep in on me!

8 thoughts on “Leftover leaves

Comments are closed.