A bit more stitching…

 

When I posted these the other day, I thought I was finished with them.

Raw edge applique 4

Then I looked again and decided that they needed more stitching…but not hand stitching. I often combine hand and machine stitching now and I like the contrast.

Two piece fill

I’m a lot happier with them now.

Some detail shots:

Twin piece detail 1

Twin piece detail 2

I also finished up the sample for my new class, Sunny Summer Day.

Sunny Summer Day 72

Details–

Sunny summer detail 2 Sunny summer detail 1

I’m eager to make another sample with the same end goal and feeling of the modern quilt movement. I have one started that I’ve used to teach Improv Curves. I just need to find some time to work on it. HAHAHA–time!

What I NEED to do and what I WANT to do are not always compatible. I need to plan classes for high schoolers. I want to play with making improv quilts for me! I need to do some painting around the house. I want to paint some thread and do some stitching.

Sigh! Day by day…………

 

 

6 thoughts on “A bit more stitching…

  1. I think your additions work quite well and do enhance the look. I am teaching a class on Modern Quilt Design in March. Maybe more emphasis on the design than on sewing. But, I need to make samples also.

    Like

    • You’re right–especially with adults–more design than sewing. Modern quilting sewing is not usually very complicated. The ‘modern’ is an aesthetic and needs the right design to feel correct.

      On Thu, Jun 26, 2014 at 8:48 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. They definitely are more finished looking and look great! You could get much more accomplished if you didn’t sleep. :^)

    Like

    • Sleep is highly over rated–I’m thinking of giving it up! I’ll sleep plenty when I’m dead, right! Ha ha!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 10:58 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m combining them more and more. I guess I think of it as my normal machine work with an accent of hand work, even though I usually do the hand work first!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 9:06 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.