I could be a geek…

I love geography and maps and looking at awesome scenery, but I don’t really study geographic information.

Tonight at the end of the nightly newscast, they showed a picture of Sioux Falls.

Sioux Falls

I felt totally stupid when I realized that Sioux Falls HAS falls. Probably why it got it’s name. I just never saw a picture of that town before and it was a real DUH! moment.

old Sioux Falls

So, of course that led me to spend time looking up all the info I could on Sioux Falls, especially pictures.

There were a lot of cool pictures that made me think it might be a wonderful place to visit. Then I found this picture

icy Sioux Falls

and remembered where Sioux Falls actually IS.

Maybe sometime in the spring or fall, ’cause I hear summer can be blazing hot…but I don’t want to take a chance on getting there too close to winter. Brrrrr!

But it did make me realize once again what a beautiful and diverse country we live in. Always something new to see and learn!

