Variety…or distraction!

Working on my slow stitching project has been proceeding…well, slooooowly. It was honestly starting to get a little boring to work on the same thing for so long, even though I loved every bit of what I was doing. However, I have lots more work planned to add to it and it seemed like it was stretching on forever. That’s the point where I obviously needed a break from it.

Wool cotton project 15

I discovered these little projects from this spring tucked into my beading bag. I had totally forgotten about them and decided that they would be a perfect distraction from the wool/cotton project. (I really wish this project would give me a name for itself!)

Small projects 12

They were so close to finished that it only took me a few hours of beading to get them both finished!

Small project 13

This is much more subdued than my usual work, but I really love it.

Small projects 14

And this photographed a little darker than it actually is, but I love turquoise and love this piece.

And while I was in the studio mounting these, I got out my new screen and printed my logo onto the backs of my small projects. I’m so happy with this. I got a small version also that I’m making labels with.

Logo used 1

I do need some practice doing the actual screen printing, though!

Connecting to Off the Wall Friday…come check out all the blogs that are linking up there.

11 thoughts on “Variety…or distraction!

  1. I, too, am working on a long hand-stitching project and you have reminded me of the value of interspersing it with some quicker projects. And yours are beautiful as well. Is there hand-stitching on the background of the brown/gold piece?

    Like

  2. I started watching a visual thinking in art class yesterday. A note I took from it was, “even though she didn’t know what the result would be…..you just trust the route you’re going.” These small pieces were a nice break and later back to the woollie. GL!

    Like

    • Exactly the perfect phrase for what I’m doing…keep working and exploring as I go. And the small works are great breaks from the longer projects.

      On Wed, Sep 10, 2014 at 8:42 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.