All the hard work is done…

Since I’m still in a holding pattern for cleaning and arranging the Artisan Showcase, I got a lot more work done on Deb’s Map quilt. I couldn’t sleep last night so I started sewing some of the pieces together. AND I sat and studied what I was doing for quite a bit.

Deb's map 4

I made several decisions along the way. I felt that it needed to be longer before I even got the first row put together. So I needed to make some more blocks. That gave me more thinking time as I sewed them and also more variety in the fabrics I was using…both good things. I kept trying to break up the sameness of the rectangular blocks, but then I realized that that was actually what I liked best about this one!

Looking at what I had on the design board, I kept trying to figure out the assembly…the easiest way…the fastest way…the most complicated way! So…decision made NOT to simply square up the blocks and sew them together with straight edges. Nope–organic, improv lines all the way. A bit harder and more time-consuming, but a better look.

However, I’m not totally crazy! I am going to sew the ROWS together in straight lines. Could I do that improvisationally also? Yes, I could, but for a quilt that is intended to be a couch quilt? Don’t think the result would be worth the extra work.

And really–all the hard work IS done. Once the design and layout are figured out, the rest is just sitting at the sewing machine and getting it done.

That’s also sometimes the boring part and you need to keep yourself motivated. Perhaps that’s why I’ll be working on an art quilt design for my son and his wife at the same time…keeping both parts of my mind busy.

Ideas? I think that as long as there is color in the world, I won’t run out of them. Hope so, anyway!

 

4 thoughts on “All the hard work is done…

    • I’m liking this one a lot, also. Won’t get any more done on it this week because of show prep, but I’ll be anxious to get it finished!

      On Sun, Oct 12, 2014 at 7:35 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Thanks–I just feel so good that I was able to use up a lot of stuff that was in my stash. That’s always a positive!

      On Sun, Oct 12, 2014 at 7:16 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.