Fall chores

I’m not getting my fall garden and yard work done, even though today is perfect for it. I’m doing one of my other important fall chores.

Using real leaves for stamps is one of my favorite things to do. But real leaves don’t last forever so the stock must be renewed…and there is never a shortage of falling leaves in the autumn. They are so beautiful I sometimes wish I could collect them all, not just rake and mulch. But I’m not looking for brilliant colors to copy or paint. I’m planning on using the leaves as stamps and I don’t want them to crumble up into dust when I do it.

Simple prep–gather up a leaf, preferably when it’s still pliable. I love large leaves and try to find the biggest ones in the woods.

Leaf prep 1

If you can use them right away, the paint you put on them will preserve them just fine. Usually, though, I’m not prepared with fabric and paint on the day I remember to pick up some leaves. So, take some glue, water it down just a bit, and coat each side of the leaf liberally.

Leaf prep 2

My favorite glue is PPA from USArtquest, but Elmer’s works fine in a pinch.

I stack them up with sheets of waxed paper in between and set something heavy on them until I’m ready to use them. There really is nothing better to make a leaf print with than a real leaf!

Leaf bead kit 1

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fall chores

    • I love fall and the leaves and printing with them. I never get tired of making things with leaves and trees and everything about fall color lifts up my soul. This is my happy time!

      On Sun, Oct 26, 2014 at 10:08 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.