Golden Inspiration

Leaf printing in the fall is one of my favorite activities, because I use real leaves. I try to get a variety, but I DO live in a mostly maple tree area.

There are always decorative trees in people’s yards and this year I was on the lookout for gingko trees. I actually found three and I was very excited because I love gingko leaves. I found these this morning and I’m totally in love with them!

Golden Gingkoes 1

This fabric has been hoarded in my stash for years!

Golden Ginkoes 6

Haven’t found or made the ‘perfect’ pattern for it though.

And, of course, I made this gingko quilt quite a few years ago.

Golden Ginkoes 5

I wanted to arrange and re-arrange the leaves all day long to get detailed pictures.

Golden Gingkoes 2

Planning on getting some thermofax screens made, but now I don’t want just a single leaf, nor do I want just a single screen.

Golden Gingkoes

Yes, I want to overwhelm myself with gingko projects. Love, love, love these!!! And I haven’t even printed with them yet!

10 thoughts on “Golden Inspiration

    • They give the best prints and because they don’t last forever, you aren’t getting the same thing over and over. So much more unique-ness!

      On Fri, Nov 7, 2014 at 11:27 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I KNOW! I love them and your pics of them too. I remember our first time walking along the canal in Georgetown and having Ginko leaves all around. It was like finding gold! But they are fragile… makes them even better. LeeAnna at not afraid of color

    Like

  2. You can always create your own fabric from your photos. Try putting the leaves on different backgrounds and photograph. I can show you how from there if you need help.

    Like

    • I actually thought of that, too, but I really don’t think I want a fabric print with the leaves. I’m feeling, at least right now, that I want to do the printing individually and make each piece unique.

      On Wed, Nov 5, 2014 at 8:38 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.