Sidetracked

Taking time out from playing with paint and trying to get the map quilt finished.

Deb's Map quilt 1

I thought I wanted lots of straight line quilting, based on the latitude and longitude lines on one of the map fabrics. That’s where I started with the quilting.

Map quilting 1

I have not even finished those lines on that section of fabric and I’m changing my mind…because it’s booooooring! I like loops and swirls and wavy lines and truly free motion quilting. I’m trying to convince myself that the straight lines will really look better on this quilt and go ahead with the boring-ness, but it’s a losing battle!

If I can just finish this section with the straight lines, surely that will be enough.

Map quilting 2

I have no discipline!

10 thoughts on “Sidetracked

  1. It’s your quilt. Let your muse lead you. If you find doing the straight lines boring, it just be her gently tap and not so gentle slap on your shoulder.

    Like

    • I can definitely do a section of straight lines to kind of set a tone, but the rest of it will not be straight! My muse has spoken!

      On Sat, Nov 15, 2014 at 5:05 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. I swear picking out the right quilting line is always hard – I think its a Zen thing! Lots of time I’ve been using a clear piece of plastic and a dry erase pen over a picture of the top to figure out what I want to do! Good Luck!!

    Like

  3. sorry to say this, but if you think it needs straight lines then that’s what you need to do. Take breaks, go do more random stuff, come back and do some more straight lines… eventually it will be what you wanted. You can do it!! LeeAnna

    Like

    • You are so right, but I’ll do almost anything to re-design that plan! Can’t stand piecing same block after same block and now I know that I can’t stand only straight stitching on a large quilt. I might manage it with a small piece!!!

      Like

    • I’m pretty sure I won’t be going too far with the straight lines. It isn’t interesting enough without some curves!

      On Fri, Nov 14, 2014 at 7:12 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.