Coincidence?

I’ve mentioned before that my hubby got me a great gift last Christmas–the Color Inspirations Club from Pink Castle Fabrics. I get a packet of solid color fabric every month and I thought last month’s was the best…until I got this month’s!

When I opened the package, I immediately thought of a painting I have done that I have wanted to turn into a fabric painting.

Paintedcity

This is the fabric

Desert city 1

Maybe not an immediate connection for you, but it sure was for me! And then my gaze fell on the fabric I recently stamped, stenciled and painted…

Desert city 2

Has my subconscious been working on this combination? Or is it just a lucky coincidence that all these items came together on my worktable at the same time?

Whatever project I eventually come up with will not be a direct copy of the painting. I’m not even tempted to try and do that. The painting is inspiring me and there will be very similar elements, I think, but it will be a different aspect of the topic…another in my ‘city’ series.

I have so many projects that I want to get to and I just don’t know when it will happen. I am very undisciplined in my use of studio time or even scheduling my free time to use for studio time. I obviously need to make that be a goal for the future! Is this like a New Year’s Resolution early? Maybe so, but I guess it really needs to happen if I want to accomplish anything!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Coincidence?

    • More thought never hurt a project! I usually just plunge in with little or no thought, so this should be fun to do it a different way!

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 3:53 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m eager to get started—maybe next week, because I want concentration time–but I often think my indecision holds me back. Looking forward to the exploration.

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 9:41 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I spent a lot of years painting, but not recently. This particular painting has always remained in the back of my mind for further exploration.

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 9:37 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • This week is super busy and I don’t want to ‘5-minute-at-a-time’ this one. Hope to really concentrate on it next week. Can’t wait to get started!

      On Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 7:45 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.