Pink Never Pays

My theory is that if you make something that’s mostly pink, you will never sell it and most likely won’t be able to successfully gift it, either. Lots of people like pink–to wear, for baby girls, as a hair color–but no one wants it hanging on their walls.

Why? No idea…but I’m sure there are theories to explain it.

In my stash, I have some squares of coordinated dyed fabric, mostly pinkish, and I played with painting and stenciling it. I cut and re-sewed and threw the pieces up on the design wall.

Playing with pink 2

Then I went to the stash again for a background fabric. I also ditched the tree block. It added nothing.

Playing with pink 1

This is looking very pink and I think it is doomed. I tried various other fabrics with it and do not currently possess a fabric that ties it together, looks good and is NOT pink-based. I’m sure every monitor shows theses colors differently, but I’ll try anything you think would go with what you see!

So far, I like the dark gray design wall background best!

 

14 thoughts on “Pink Never Pays

  1. How about some golden green/brass color to liven up the pink and purple at the same time? Value to be determined. The devil is always in the details, and there some of the most sublime results occur. I really love your combo blocks. The whole thing is very elegant. It has enough deep purple I think. It just needs sparkle.

    Like

    • Hmmm…golden green/brass…I will be trying that for sure. I think I truly need to try everything with this set of blocks, ’cause I’m just not gonna know until I do!!!

      Like

  2. Well color implies mood. What mood do you want it to have? A low contrast medium gray would work too. Pink is so lovely in sunsets. Is it the bit of orange in them? Maybe an orange? I love orange and pink together.
    LeeAnna at not afraid of color

    Like

    • I love orange, too, and it’s a possibility. Probably need to decide what feeling I want this piece to have before I move on. I’m just spinning my wheels until then. This piece is very muted for what I usually do, even with the pink, so it’s a challenge!

      On Sat, Dec 6, 2014 at 12:27 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Too funny about the design wall. As I read, I was thinking why didn’t she stay with the background in the first picture? I didn’t realize it was your design surface. 🙂
    Inserting another color to overshadow the pink is a great idea! Maybe that greyish purple shade in the hand dyed fabric in the one block near the center???

    Like

    • Everybody loves purple except me! I do everything I can to avoid it and probably a deep purple would actually be the best solution to this design. I may have to break down and admit that, but I’m going to try everything else first!!!

      On Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 9:54 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I like Melanie’s ideas as well and I’ll definitely be trying them out. If I like the other colors, I can see doing much more slice and dice to build this!

      On Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 8:32 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Yeah, I know–purple. I don’t have much purple fabric because it’s my least favorite color. Sometimes, though, that’s what a piece calls for and this might be one!

      On Wed, Dec 3, 2014 at 11:03 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’ll keep trying! Didn’t even think about going way far away from the base fabric colors. I’ll try some of your suggestions, for sure! Thanks.

      On Wed, Dec 3, 2014 at 10:13 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.