Still feeling copycat-ish

Started thinking about my doorway arch project and made a first little sketch.

Arch drawing 1

Pretty much exactly what I had in the painting, except only a single arch. Just filler within the arch–no real idea of what I would want there.

I thought I wanted to do exactly this. It would be easy and I could play with the colors I want. But the more I think about it, the more I want to abstract it. I think I want to take out the hard structure lines and create the impression of the arch just with color and light and dark. I might actually need to do it this way first and then do it again more abstractly.

I may end up wasting some fabric with this experiment, but the vision has been in my head for years and it’s time I worked it out of there!

One thought on “Still feeling copycat-ish

Comments are closed.