Detailing

Detailing…that’s an auto term, right? Cleaning things up, right down to the smallest detail? Well, that’s where I am with this arch project.

Spent lots of time selecting fabric for each stone.

Arches 10

Only did this twice…a pretty good percentage out of those 59 pieces. (Another note to self: don’t complain about 59 pieces. Many artists use hundreds of pieces; teeny, tiny pieces!)

I certainly enjoyed seeing the little pile of scraps growing. It was proof that I really was making progress.

Arches 12

After I had it all fuse-tacked, I was almost afraid to move it to the ironing board. I just knew that I had missed pieces somewhere and they would fall off on the trip across the room. It never even ocurred to me that I could move the ironing board to the edge of the light table and just slide it across and iron. Duh!

Arches 11

Now I’m ready to start all that detailing…mostly the mortar between the joints and I think I want to outline everything…yes, all 59 rocks! Then I get to do the quilting. I’m really looking forward to that part.

But I couldn’t wait to see it up on the wall, with a dark border. The actual end border may just be binding, but this gives me a general idea of what I’m working toward.

Arches 13

And it will mostly have to be put on the back burner for holiday time. Hmmm…maybe not so much…I don’t bake, the shopping is mostly done, decorations are up….AJ loves to help with lights and decorations! If I don’t do any cleaning (oops, sorry for that profanity!) I should have some time to sew!

If not, it will be time spent with family and I’ll always treasure that the most.

9 thoughts on “Detailing

  1. You are so funny, Kathie. Yes, I use the Clover iron too. I like to fuse tack onto a black fabric and then just cut it out as a whole. I can leave spaces where I want black outline.

    Like

    • I haven’t been doing a lot fusing lately so I almost forgot about that little iron! I’d have had a real mess if I’d have tried to use my regular iron to do the fuse tacking. I think some things might have ended up in the wrong place and I’d have had a pile of stones instead of a stone arch!

      On Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 7:49 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote: > >

      Like

    • I may do that, but I might also add some hand stitching texture and it’s easier to do that before I add the batting…and easier to hide the knots than to bury them! At least on this one I’m not even tempted to add beads!

      On Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 8:25 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote: > >

      Like

  2. It’s worth your work!! I don’t know if they would work on a light box….but when I’ve done designing on my flannel wall with small pieces that needed to stay in their exact placement. I’ve hauled out my tiny Clover iron…..heated it up and tacked the pieces ever so slightly in place…..that way I can move the whole piece to the ironing board w/o interruption of the design.

    Like

    • That’s exactly what I did. That little Clover iron worked just great! I was glad to be able to use the light table rather than the design wall, because I could lay everything out without pins. Just one less step. I’m excited to get started on the stitching, and hope to steal away to the studio today for a few hours…*after* football!

      On Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 7:46 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote: > >

      Like

Comments are closed.