Blog Tour

I’m probably the last one to get in on the Around the World Blog Tour, but doesn’t everyone get a participation ribbon? When you are part of this, you are supposed to tag someone else to continue, but everyone I know with a blog has already done it! My friend Judy Ferguson tagged me, so now I’m ‘it’. I’m waiting to hear back from someone, but I’ll go ahead while I’m waiting.

Here are questions that you are supposed to answer. I’ve been enjoying reading this in other blogs, getting to know more about other bloggers. If you happen to read my blog already, there won’t be much that’s new here!

What am I currently working on?

There is never just a single project going on in my life. I try to have things in different stages so that if I have to wait for paint to dry, I can always go sew something! I usually have a project or two on the design wall, a machine quilting project, a hand sewing project and a beading project going at the same time. This slows things down sometimes, but it means I can work in the studio or in the living room, watching TV…er, enjoying family time with my husband!

Current project

Current project

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

‘Unique’ is very important to me. My work is abstract and improvisational, so I’m sure that no one else is making the same thing, even though I use many of the same mixed-media techniques as other artists. I hate the thought of being ‘cliche’ and love the idea that every viewer can make their own story about my work.

Bright sheers 3
Why do I write/create what I do?

Creating is part of my soul, my inner being. I cannot exist without making things. I spent quite a few years exploring different media, but quilting caught my heart. I also have an insatiable thirst for knowledge and continue to explore techniques and experiments to push textile work. I can’t see a day when I won’t be trying to ‘make’.

Soy wax dye day

Soy wax dye day

Clear the decks
How does my writing/creative process work?

My process is usually inspired by fabric and color. I don’t sketch. I rarely pre-plan. I work improvisationally and develop my pieces on the design wall. I arrange and re-arrange and edit as I go along. After a project is completed, I often assess whether or not it’s something that’s teachable and then spend time developing a lesson plan. I am eager to share what I do, because I would like everyone to experience the freedom of free-form design. In my world, every day is a day to just try it, ‘what if?’ and ‘what’s the worst that can happen?’ No fear–play every day!

Schmidt-Postcard 2 Schmidt-Postcard 6 Schmidt-Postcard 5 Schmidt-Postcard 4

 

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour

    • It’s enabled me to learn more about so many people and I’ve enjoyed them, too. Last is not always the worst place!

      On Fri, Jan 2, 2015 at 7:32 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.