Thinking of new directions

As I have been reading blogs and Facebook posts, all the resolutions and words of the year have been swirling through my thoughts. I don’t do either because I know that I don’t have enough will power to stick to any one thing that determinedly.

But one person’s studio clean out resonated with me. She no longer makes bed quilts and found a new home for all her fabric that had been designated for that. I’m not quite ready to give away my stash, but I am more than ready to do something drastic to get the volume of it way down. And it’s almost a literal ‘volume’ as it’s screaming at me to be used and overwhelming me with it’s potential.

organize1

I have lots of fabric that ‘goes together’ and that was going to become bed quilts. That is separate in my mind from fabric that I intend to incorporate into an art quilt. It doesn’t do me any good sitting on the shelf, waiting for ‘one of these days’ to get used. ‘One of these days’ has suddenly arrived.

organize2

My ideas for new art quilt projects seem abundant right now, so I don’t want to slow down anything in that area. What I DO want to have happen is to start cutting and piecing bed quilts to use up that fabric. My family will be one of those that has a pile of unfinished quilt tops when I go. I don’t care. At least the fabric will be made into something that has practical potential, not unwanted and unused fabric that has more potential for the landfill than the quilt top. And some of them will get quilted and used…and that’s the point, isn’t it?

organize3

I’m going to take a day every week and just work on piecing quilt tops. I’m going to spend part of that day using up scraps and part of it starting with new fabric—and making more scraps. Does this sound like a New Year’s resolution? Maybe. But if a resolution is acted upon, it becomes a way of life and that’s what I’m aiming towards.

Scrap Explosion

A new direction–to use up my abundant resources in a practical way. Wish me luck!

13 thoughts on “Thinking of new directions

    • And I have friends who say that I have very little! It’s hard for me to imagine hoards bigger than mine, but I guess we all accumulate what we love! And now I have to turn it into something useful!

      On Thu, Jan 8, 2015 at 5:09 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I know the feeling! Even worse, i put some of the lovely material I bought over the years in the attic, to get it out of the way, and there was a storm and a couple of tiles got loose – you can guess the rest!

    I’m doing an online blogging course this week and todays assignment is to find some blogs to follow, so I’ve chosen yours as one of them. If you want to check me out its http://julzcrafts.wordpress.com

    thanks

    Like

  2. I did a complete studio organization about 4 years ago. I do not make bed quilts, so my pieces are no more than a couple of yards. I have never regretted doing this and have manged to keep it pretty well in order. The best part is that I can now find everything at a glance. It saves so much time. And now, I use all those scraps in my Bohemian Art Quilts.

    Like

    • My pieces are primarily fat quarters, but I’ve been doing that for a lot of years. And since I’m really not ready to just give it all away, I WILL be making some bed quilts this year. If I say it, I have to do it, right? Maybe a true organization mode by next January!!!

      Like

  3. It seems no matter how much I destash the remaining fabric takes a deep breath and exhales to take up the space. Just a thought for you, would stitching scraps for 30 min a day as your studio morning warm up get as much accomplished as devoting a day?

    I don’t do bed quilts as a rule. As I stitch my mind is set free to create and after that 30 min I’m ready to put it aside and move on to something artsy.

    Like

    • My scrap baskets definitely expand whenever I take anything out of them! And the way my days go, it’s going to be better for me to devote a day or half day to scraps. If I just sew and see no progress, I’ll get bored and quit doing it, so creating a ‘project’ in a morning will trick myself into wanting it finished!

      Like

  4. I managed to cut all my scrap bins into useable sizes after listening to Bonnie Hunter speak a few years back. It too me 18 months but it is done! I followed her suggestions sort of. And cut them up for 10 or 15 minutes on most days. The unintended benefit to that was added productivity by just making myself be in there every day. I also wanted to make quilts for my siblings last year. In January I decided which pagtterns to use and put everything I needed for each one together. Then I “made” myself cut them by February. Worked like a charm because even if I only had half an hour to sew I could work on block consruction without even having to think about it. I made a couple scrap quilts while working on the others using those as leader enders. I finished 8 tops that way last year. January and February were intense but after that, easy peasy!

    Like

    • I think I want to work improvisationally and not cut things into standard sizes. I know that takes more time, but I’m usually happier with the results. We’ll see…

      Like

  5. I love the bottom picture Kath, I remember you gave me one of those a few years back and I used many of those scraps during my scrap binge that year. You are a great mentor and example. When I get home, I will follow your example and do the same. See you in Feb!

    Like

    • I haven’t started piecing anything yet, though! Maybe I should go start on that right now! My scrap baskets are so full, it’s almost overwhelming! Oh–are you in South America again or someplace else really cool?

      Like

Comments are closed.