Details matter

Looking at my little silk piece and trying to decide on the beading. I made the decision to only put beads along the red/pink lines of stitching. Then I made a selection of beads that would look good, but couldn’t decide on just one color. I also did not think that multiple long lines of color would be unifying, so I decided that a mix of the bead color would be fine.

Last decision—which style of beading do I want to use?

Option 1:

Silk emb detail 1

Or option 2:

Silk embr detail 4

Colors are not exactly right…I still have a lot to learn about my new camera. But I’m leaning toward option 2. It’s a bit of sparkle but not a huge long line of solid beads.

I’m having so much fun with this hand work marathon!

12 thoughts on “Details matter

  1. I like the scattered bead in option 2 much better. I hate to tell you how many beads I have picked off. Trial and error.

    Like

    • Option 2 is totally unanimous! Much better to do that than to undo the beads, you’re sure right about that!

      On Sat, Jan 10, 2015 at 8:29 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Judy is right……view your piece on a design wall…..I can’t tell you how often I’ve changed the bead style, color, or beading pattern after doing a preview. However, as shown….#2 would be my choice…..pop of color and texture instead of harsh lines that may interrupt or challenge the delicate nature of your hand stitching. (JUST my humble opinion)

    Like

    • Mary, I *always* look at things on the design wall! That is actually my most important tool. This one needed a bit of sparkle but I’m wary of over-doing it. I really don’t want to overwhelm the stitching so I’m taking it slow and adding a little at a time. And your opinions are *expert* opinions, not so humble, and I value them!

      On Fri, Jan 9, 2015 at 8:29 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Beading is kind of deceiving when you put it into a total design. If your perspective is close up it will be different from if your perspective is from a distance. So many things look great up close and then disappear when you put it on a design wall.

    Like

    • You are so right. I usually err on the side of *too much*, though! I think this one needs a bit of sparkle, but I may end up adding a lot of sparkle into the coral highlight area before it’s done. Beading does that to me…I get carried away!!!

      On Fri, Jan 9, 2015 at 8:11 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.