Weekly Special

Several people whose blogs I follow do a weekly or daily project with stitching or drawing or writing. I’ve been inspired to commit to one for myself. After a little contemplation, I think it will be a combination of beading and stitching. I wanted to do this once before but never followed through. I really plan on doing it this time!

Now to the nuts and bolts of actually doing it! NOT the red silk! Too intense and limiting for the first time out. I have a group of similar fabrics that I purchased when I was still stocking up on fabrics. And I have a piece that I think will be similar to what I’ll be doing.

Weekly special planning 1

This is 12 x 12, but the fabric part is an 11″ square. Do I really want to do 52 11-12″ pieces?

Weekly special planning 26″?Weekly special planning 38″? Weekly special planning 410″???

Took another look at the piece I had, for comparison…

Weekly special planning 5

Would a 10″ finished size be too small? Took a blank 12″ canvas still covered with plastic and drew an 8″ and a 10″ square on it.

WS size 1

I think the size decisions have been made! Both of those sizes will be just fine. Either will work for putting onto canvas, but also good if I decide to do something else to finish.

Now…if I’m doing beads and stitching, the fabric is going to need some support. That’s the next decision. What to use? Fusible interfacing–batting–heavier weight interfacing–my favorite Sew Lazy Stiff Stuff–flannel–some combination of these choices?

The decision MUST be made because I need to get started. I’m already behind, but I’ll have time in Feb. to get caught up…as long as I get my decisions made and my “bases” ready for whatever I’m going to do! I’ll give myself another 24 hours to think it through and then it’s action time.

I’m ready to stitch!!!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Special

    • I’m looking forward to this product being widely available. I’m not at all affiliated with the company, but it’s definitely a product that I can recommend!

      On Fri, Jan 16, 2015 at 6:00 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m not much into flannel. I’ve never had much luck making it behave…and I have a whole bolt of the Sew Lazy Stiff Stuff that I just love. I think that the flannel would not give me enough support for the heavier beads, though I love the idea of ‘easy to stitch through’!!

      On Fri, Jan 16, 2015 at 11:56 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I agree with Mary on the stabilizer choice, I used to us peltex for threadpainting, but it really is pretty stiff. Whenever I try something new, I first decide how I will hang it. Once I get that figured out, it helps me create my designs. Especially if you are going to put it behind glass and use a matting system. My first question is always, “How will I hang it?”

    Like

    • Definitely not going to put these behind glass. It removes the texture from the viewer’s experience. Pretty sure it’s going to be mounting on canvas, all the way!

      On Thu, Jan 15, 2015 at 8:40 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. An admirable commitment…….right now I’m simply enjoying NOT having any deadlines but will cheer you on. As far as stablizing…..my favorite product is Pellon Lightweight non-fusible interfacing….sturdy but soft…..way nicer to use than that that Stiff Stuff!

    Like

    • The Stiff Stuff that I use is NOT the Stiff Stuff that is sold in bead stores. This is a relatively new product developed by Joan Hawley of Lazy Girl. It’s a bit thicker than interfacing, but it’s much, much softer than things like Peltex or Timtex or Decor Bond. It supports the work but is easy to scrunch up while I work without wrinkling, and it’s easy to needle through. It’s by far the best product I’ve found so far for what I do. I’m pretty sure that’s what I’m going to use for most of these pieces.

      On Thu, Jan 15, 2015 at 7:49 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.