Outdoor Art

There is always something cool to see in my mother’s neighborhood. One of her neighbors, who name escapes us all, is a glass artist. In past years, the art I have seen has been small. This year is different.

As we approached on our walk, I saw things hung on the trees. These are soooo cool!

Walk-glass 1

This is the first one I saw and then I spotted two more.

Walk-glass 3

Walk-glass 4

Two more steps and this was on the side of the next tree.

Walk-glass 2

Looked like a Christmas tree to me and I’m so glad it wasn’t taken down after the Christmas season was done.

And there was MORE! The whole side of the house has glass art hanging from it.

Walk-glass 5

There is more in the yard that I did not photograph…they have this thing called trespassing and I didn’t want to push my luck, so I stayed on the road!

I intend to go back for a chat and a closer look. If I remember correctly from years past, the very first place I saw dichroic glass was in her work and it was fascinating to me. Can’t wait to see more of what she is doing now! And to capture her name again in my memory!

Edited Feb. 8: Hooray! My mother remembered that the artist is Marilyn Catlow. She is a long-time artist and very well known for her beautiful work. There is lots to learn about her from the internet, but I’m not sure how current it is. I hope to be brave enough to meet her before we leave here!

14 thoughts on “Outdoor Art

  1. I love glass out in nature. From Chihuly blown glass to wine bottle trees and glass globes, there is a place for glass in the outside. I am intrigued by her work and would love to have you find out more….i.e. her name, how to contact her and whether her work is for sale….and maybe a web site! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • I’m looking to find out ALL about her. She does have a bottle tree started, but that’s nothing compared to her other outdoor pieces!

      On Sat, Feb 7, 2015 at 11:13 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m trying to find out more about the artist! I think she’s getting a little older now and may not be as active. But I hope she is…

      On Sat, Feb 7, 2015 at 10:17 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Indeed! I’m planning on doing some standing and staring…and hoping to spend some time with her just ooohing and aaaahing!

      On Sat, Feb 7, 2015 at 8:57 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’ve met her before, several times, but only out in the yard to chat or at a local gallery. I want to get into her studio and see EVERYTHING!

      On Sat, Feb 7, 2015 at 8:32 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.