Another portal

My art quilt group is trying to gather pieces for an exhibit application and our theme is portals, evolved from doors/doorways. We need enough that every member of the group could do more than one and not worry about it!

I’m starting a second piece and it began with another random piece of fabric that caught my eye. I thought it would be cool to make a piece with sheer and translucent fabrics. There was some nice blue and I had a piece that was dyed and then stitched with random twin needle curves and some purple, and a piece of gold organza fell onto the floor…

The totally translucent wasn’t working for me, so I added one more layer of silk in the back. Ta-da…step one!

Sheer door 1

Some ‘what if’ ‘what’s missing’ ‘what next’ thinking got me to the point of making some shapes with the plan to cut them out.

Sheer door 3 Sheer door 4

Each cutout exposes a different layer.

Sheer door 5

The next step was to add a couched stitch around each cutout.

Sheer door 7

And a bit to the gold, just to carry the color through.

Sheer door 6

I still want it lightweight, so I’m not sure about batting and backing. I’m thinking non-traditional, but it definitely needs something. Felt, for a backing/batting combo? With pinked and couched edge? I could use lightweight batting, or some silk blend batting that I have with more silk for the backing, but it seems silly to me to waste a large piece of silk on a quilt back! Cheap or frugal, that’s just the way I think. Maybe I’ll go look through all that wool I have and see if there’s something lightweight that will work.

I’m not going to jump into anything on this one. I’m really liking it and I don’t want to hate it because of choosing the wrong innards!

2 thoughts on “Another portal

    • I’m not quite confident enough working with sheers, yet. Maybe the next piece! Especially since this has rules for an exhibition proposal…don’t want to go too far “out there” !!!

      On Sat, Mar 14, 2015 at 11:24 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.