Quick door update

Grabbed some time to work on my latest door project, so I’ll give you an in-process, quick update.

Only able to start adding shadows, but they make quite a difference!

Plaid door 3

First, stitched the panels to define the door and then added the big shadow.

Plaid door 5

I’m not sure what else I’ll need to add to the window shadow, but all the shadows will need some stitch definition.

And here’s where it is when I had to leave it. Hope I can get back to it soon!

Plaid door 4

6 thoughts on “Quick door update

  1. How do you apply the shading? What material do you prefer to use both for the shading itself and the application? I am trying to be more aware of shadows in my work, but I struggle with it…..can you share your tricks?

    Like

    • This is the first time I’ve ever put realistic type shadows into anything. I used a vintage fabric that I had, from someone’s mother’s stash. I think it’s a cotton organza, semi-sheer and perfect for this piece. I just put fusible on a piece of the fabric, drew out the shapes I needed and fused it on. Most of the sheers that I see now are more glitzy, but I’m sure if I shopped in a drapery shop or a bridal shop I could find lots of things that would work for shadows. I have a couple more door pieces that I will need shadows for, so there is more experimentation to be done!

      On Mon, Mar 30, 2015 at 1:02 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • It’s amazing what the shadows can do, and that’s what drew me to this image in the first place. I’ve always loved high contrast shadows and I may have to study and explore them more seriously.

      On Sun, Mar 29, 2015 at 11:29 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • The shadows make all the difference in this one! And that’s what attracted me to this picture, to try and make it in fabric.

      On Sun, Mar 29, 2015 at 3:03 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.