Use up the stash, take two!

The last time you saw these blocks, I was unhappy with how they were turning out…

Sew big 9

There were technical problems and they just didn’t appeal to me as I had envisioned them. I set the whole project aside for a while…got back to it today. My original plan was to have lots of curves and perhaps some quarter circles. Not happening!

I decided to make it easy on myself and make straight cuts for a little slice and dice action. What could it hurt? I did keep my inserts at a consistent width of 2″, and that’s only because I started by using up some binding strip pieces that I had.

I’m starting to like it now.

Text quilt 1

These blocks are quite large, about 18 x 20 or so. My favorite so far is this one and if I don’t go crazy, it should trim up like this:

Text quilt 2

I still have way, way too much fabric for this one…probably enough for 2 quilts.

Text quilt 3

Perhaps that’s exactly what I should do. I love all the fabrics involved. Wow! See how quickly things go from a simple use-up-the-stash-project to now making two quilts? I must be nuts!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Use up the stash, take two!

    • And more to come, along the same lines, if all goes as planned! This will be a full size quilt, so there is a lot more to add before it’s done!

      On Sat, Apr 18, 2015 at 8:18 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I call this the Costco method of quilting. Two for the price of one. A good deal with just a bit more effort! I have started doing this with some of my quilts right away to use up the fabric and not send one quilts worth of remnants to my stash. One can give them to family, have spare quilts for the house, give away to charity, what ever.

    Like

    • This one was originally intended for my daughter, after a few rounds as a class sample. It may still end up with her, but I have so many UFO’s to finish that I’ll never run out of choices! I just love these fabrics and want to end up with a successful quilt!

      On Fri, Apr 17, 2015 at 9:14 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.