Inspiration strikes…

Roaming around in the back of my mind is the theme one of my groups is working on, Portals. I was not happy with the the last piece I made and I’ve been trying to come up with an idea for another one. My first idea was for a maze, but it ended up more Halloween themed than Portal!

Books and libraries have always been synonymous with Portals and imagination to me, so I’ve been trying to figure out a quilt using that. And inspiration struck…

I really didn’t want to do the boring work that would make a bookshelf-looking piece, but I wanted a bookshelf background. Stash to the rescue and now I have my background. It almost made itself!

Bookshelf quilt 1

There will be a top layer over this of a sheer fabric, portraying an open book………..somehow! My stash didn’t give me the sheer and my drawing skills are not good for making a book, but I’ll get it all figured out. The idea is full-blown in my head now, so it’s just a matter of making it happen! Just need to let it percolate and come up with the right technique to finish it off.

And then stitching—joy, joy, joy!

