The 9 Patch 4 Patch Quilt

Several ideas spinning through my head, so I hit the stash to see what would make it to the top of the heap. Bingo! Bright colors and I wanted to make a baby quilt, so ding! ding! ding! we have a winner!!!!

Except that these brights all had a black background. I had used them in a couple of other quilts several years ago, that I thought would be good baby quilts. Not so much for babies, with all the black, but okay for an older kid.

Black brights

Today I decided to try and use them up. I added a couple of reds and lots of white and went back to my favorite wonky nine patch blocks.

Baby Blanche 1

I figured out a way to really production-piece these and made a huge stack in only a couple of hours. The slices and angles are not as varied this way, but in the big picture, it works out fine.

Then I had to spend some time doing the most boring part of this process–trimming the wonky blocks to size. Sigh!

Baby Blanche 2

Finally, I was able to get them all put up on the design wall.

Baby Blanche 3

EEEEEEK! What a jumbled, eye-popping mess! And I really thought it was going to be a quick put-together-and-done quilt. What to do…what to do…head back to the stash and look for something for sashing, I guess.

Man, oh, man, this using up the the stash thing is awesome! I had a big roll of binding that I had never used and it was perfect! But I didn’t want to take forever sewing sashing to each block, and that would have made the quilt twin size, not baby size. That’s when I came up with the idea of combining the 9 patches into 4 patches and sashing those.

Baby Blanche 5

Now don’t think I sew sashing like that…it’s just pinned up on the design wall, ready for assembly. The blacks, added reds, whites and the yellow are combining for a bright and happy baby quilt.

Baby Blanche 4

I had just barely enough of the yellow for the sashing–about 6 inches to spare–and I had originally thought the roll was so huge I’d still have enough for the binding, too! Guess I’ll have to go stash diving again for something appropriate. I’m really liking this Use-Up-The-Stash Self Help Program I’m on!

6 Comments

Filed under Color, Designing Quilts, Fabric, Quilting, Use Up the Stash

6 responses to “The 9 Patch 4 Patch Quilt

  1. Gayle

    Great quilt! I like the original one too though. I used a lot of black in my older two grand kids baby quilts. They loved the colors!

    Like

    • Black and white are supposed to be good for babies. I don’t make pastel baby quilts–either bright, bold colors or lots of black and white, sometimes both.

      On Fri, May 1, 2015 at 7:15 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Wow, you are persistent. Not sure I could be that stubborn. But it looks like it is starting to pay off. That would drive me crazy. lol

    Like

    • But it’s such a good feeling to use up fabric that’s just been sitting on the shelf! In a sense, if it’s not being used it’s only junk and clutter and I don’t need any more of that in my life.

      On Thu, Apr 30, 2015 at 7:58 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like