Punishment Sewing

Yes, some people call it relaxing…mindless…therapeutic. I think it’s pure torture, punishment for all my past transgressions. What is it? Sewing strips together. Lots and lots of leftover binding strips. Just to use up all those scraps. Miles and miles of strip sewing. It didn’t seem like it would be that much when I started.

This is what I had paired up after sewing f.o.r.e.v.e.r….

Punishment 1

And it was pretty ugly. I don’t like light colored binding, so it was all dark and gloomy. And I didn’t use any of the blacks!

I decided to make lime green be my ‘color glue’ and cut up strips of that. The two green fabrics that I used have found homes in many other pieces around here. It was time for them to make the big sacrifice and get used up!

Punishment 2

That gave me more tortuous miles of straight strip sewing to do. And at the end of the green, I still have a huge pile of dark and green gloomy strips.

It was all I could do to press them. My husband told me (under his breath!) to trash it. I am definitely tempted.

Punishment 3

I’m walking away for now and I’ll look at it with fresh eyes tomorrow. Something may become of this and it’s an equal possibility that the trash will get a big lunch! We’ll see.

14 thoughts on “Punishment Sewing

  1. This post made me chuckle. The title is so perfect.
    I got the bright idea that I’d make a scrap binding for my the memory quilt I’m making out of my daughter’s baby clothes. Except since the clothes are so tiny, the scraps are no joke 1 – 3″. It’s a queen sized quilt. I’ve got maybe a yard and a half sewn so far. I think it will look adorable, and I’m stubbornly insisting that the entire visible front of the quilt be made of her old clothes… but punishment is absolutely the right word for it!

    Like

    • Perhaps you will get it done by the time she graduates from high school! And you may decide the punishment can end at any time—a baby clothes medallion style in the center of that queen size quilt might just be punishment enough!!!

      On Fri, Jul 10, 2015 at 11:51 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Thanks for posting this. I do a lot of artwork as well and most of my friends think the process is very “zen” I hate to burst their bubble and let them know that there is often a lot of bad words flying in the middle of a project. 🙂

    Like

    • I think it will be fine as a utility or charity quilt. It’s just not as pretty as I would like and it’s boring to sew. I’m taking it now as a personal challenge to make it desirable and lovely!

      On Thu, Jul 9, 2015 at 6:37 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No, No! Not the trash! You could always braid them up and make a rug. Dark is good for rugs – they don’t show the dirt. Have you thrown away fabric in the past? Maybe that is the sin you are being punished for!

    Like

    • Thrown away fabric in the past? Heavens, no! That’s why I’ve accumulated so much, plus I never say no when someone has fabric to give from a deceased relative or the like. I have given a lot of fabric away and I’m planning on doing more of that in the future, but I feel like a ‘guilty sinner’ if I’m not using everything I’ve garnered!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well… this is not the type of sewing I like to do. In fact, I’m tempted to take my bags of 2.5″ squares (some sewed in pairs) to either the next guild meeting or the Mennonite relief thrift store. And while I’m at it, I could bag other scraps and donate them… What a free feeling that might be. 🙂

    Like

    • Yep, charity quilt for sure…and I have started a pile of giveaway fabrics as I was looking for more lime green! I hope my shelves are down to a reasonable stash before Christmas!

      On Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 8:27 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  5. Maybe you could use them for wallpaper. (snicker) Here is an idea. Sew them together and then donate them to a thrift shop as an unfinished quilt top. Someone will want it. (not me)

    Like

    • Certainly don’t like them enough for wallpaper! I might do a quick assembly and donate for a charity quilt. Found some more lime green that I can add and then it will be mostly a green quilt with dark parts for accents. But I don’t want to spend much more time on it, for sure!

      On Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 8:15 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.