It might work…

I’ve been looking at a sit down quilting machine like a Sweet 16 for several years now. I keep thinking that I really, really need one.

Then I remember the suggestion to turn the machine and sew from the open end. This is the machine I like to quilt on, turned.

Turn machine 1

Since it’s a straight stitch, high speed machine with a larger throat and big table, it’s just not gonna work. I can’t reach the on/off switch or the thread cutter. It does give me all the supporting table room I could ask for, but I don’t think it’s that much better than my normal set up.

Turn machine 2

Even though I think I really, really need that other machine, I do all right on this one!

Started the quilting on this quilt, thinking that I’d put a large ‘flower’ in the center of each block.

Patio Pavers 3

It doesn’t really show up. Makes it easier that way.

Patio Pavers 1

I can simply quilt flowers wherever I want! And there is room to get the whole quilt under that larger throat area.

Patio Pavers 2

Free form fun!

8 thoughts on “It might work…

    • When my hands forced me to learn FMQ, I thought I would never be able to do it. My first efforts were so very pathetic. But guess what? Just like everything else, practice, practice, practice…it’s amazing how quickly you can get better. However, in your case, do you really DO a lot of FMQ? Do you want to?

      On Thu, Aug 20, 2015 at 6:52 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. You need to look at the Sunshine 16. I have stitched on it and it’s awesome; you can almost run it with two fingers. The larger size can be made to stand or sit at. One of the Ann Arbor guild gals was purchasing one while I checked out their “take it anywhere” one in GR. When I move to the basement, I’m seriously thinking of getting one.

    Like

    • I’m still trying to convince myself that I really, really, really need another machine. Especially since I’m still working small!

      On Wed, Aug 19, 2015 at 10:27 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. I tried the same thing before buying a mid arm. I have a Sunshine 16, about 1/4 the price of the name brands. They are made in America by a man and wife team and there are no computers involved. It is a basic straight stitch with no feed dogs, think of the early Singers simplicity. I can clean, oil and adjust it myself easily. You might check them out.

    Like

    • I’ve looked at those, too, but never sat down for a tryout and sales information. At this point, I’m pretty sure I can exist without buying one, but you’d better believe I will shop all brands before I buy one!

      On Wed, Aug 19, 2015 at 9:45 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Just stipped the gears on my older machine. Not sure I will pay to have it fixed. Just what machine do you have with the larger space for quilting? Also, one of my pet peeves with my machines is that the lift is low rise. I don’t want to spend a lot of money, but these things would be great assets.

    Like

    • My straight stitch machine is a Brother 1500. I know it was under $1000 and it’s great for chain piecing and quilting. That’s all it has and I’ve loved it. There are others on the market but I never explored them. I still need my Bernina for anything zig zag, which I do on a lot of my edges and I like the walking foot better on it. It always depends on what type of sewing you do the most! Try them all before you decide!

      On Wed, Aug 19, 2015 at 8:21 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.