Working on the NOT fun stuff…

And I’m procrastinating with a bit of blogging, too. Since I’m sorting pieces to put them in a show, I decided that I really, finally had to make sure that all my pieces had a sleeve and a label.

My latest labeling process is to paint directly on the quilt with a thermofax screen.

Sometimes it works very well…

Labels 3

and sometimes, not so much.

Labels 1

Labels 2

I can often just write over the bad paint job with a gel pen or a Sharpie and it looks just fine…

Labels 4

and sometimes, not so much!

Labels 5

I never worry too much, though, because I can always go back to what I used to do, which is to print the label from the computer and then iron it on. It can cover all my goofs, if need be, but I really like using the screen and paint.

While I had the paint out, I couldn’t resist trying out my new stencils.

New stencils 1

They will make me very happy!

New stencils 2 New stencils 3

And then I had some pieces that needed sleeves.

Sleeves 1

That is truly my least favorite job. It’s hand sewing that doesn’t even have to be good, except that  I need to make it complete, good and finished off for my own satisfaction. It’s time-consuming and I hate it. Probably why there are always pieces waiting to have a sleeve added!

Back to work…there are sleeves to sew. Yuck!

8 thoughts on “Working on the NOT fun stuff…

    • I like that Q also, but you can’t read the rest of the words, so it had to be covered. Maybe I’ll have another screen made with a Q just like that one!

      On Fri, Aug 28, 2015 at 7:34 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • I’m not at all unhappy when that happens. It does add more interest. I’m taking a class in a couple weeks to learn more about printing, but I’m not sure I want to get too good at it!

      On Fri, Aug 28, 2015 at 3:52 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Right now I am using regular acrylic paint mixed with textile medium. There are lots of options out there, but this is what I had on hand.

      On Wed, Aug 26, 2015 at 9:59 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We must be twins. I just bought some stencils to use on the back of my quilts too. One of the biggest headaches about those sleeves is that you can just sit down a make a bunch. Each one has to be tailored to fit.

    Like

    • And people expect the sleeve to match, where I think it’s a great place to use up unloved fabrics! It’s just a pain all around, but necessary.

      On Wed, Aug 26, 2015 at 7:53 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.