Gotta love paint flinging!

Paint flinging and collage–two workshops taught by Lynn Krawczyk this weekend. I had such a wonderful time! I am currently learning as much as I can about surface design, techniques and methods and loving every bit of it.

This a fraction of what we all brought.

LK Workshop 1 LK Workshop 2

And Lynn brought much more. Look at that sweet smile. Who would have thought she would work us half to death?

LK Workshop 3

It didn’t take us long to spread out and start flinging paint.

LK Workshop 4

I made a couple of pieces that I really liked.

LK Workshop 10 LK Workshop 9 LK Workshop 8

This sheer was a ‘two-fer.’ I layered it over another piece of fabric and enough paint came through the screen to print both pieces at once. Love it!

LK Workshop 7

But the best part was Lynn’s demo of how to save a piece you really hate. I didn’t take a before picture of this, but I sure like it after her ‘saving.’ I may add more to it yet, but I would have thrown it away otherwise!

LK Workshop 11

That was Friday’s job. Then I had to come home and prep for Sunday’s collage class.

LK Workshop 6

Where to stop with the piles of fabric? Can’t carry everything I have…this should be interesting. Check back tomorrow to see what  happens!

4 thoughts on “Gotta love paint flinging!

  1. Yes, I would love this kind of workshop. One thing I have learned though. Be picky about which fabrics you use to do your experimenting on. If it is too thick, it might cause a problem when you want to cut out areas to piece together with other fabrics. I no long do experiments like this on decorator fabrics. Cottons only. Think ahead. I am using a lot of these fabrics now.

    Like

    • Oh, you are so right about that! I have only used cotton for most of my life and don’t want to change that at all. I will incorporate some synthetics, but not upholstery weight at all. I like to be able to manipulate the fabric and bulky fabric just doesn’t work. This type of workshop also is the only kind that appeals to me now, too!

      On Mon, Sep 21, 2015 at 8:05 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.