Collage finished–almost!

When I sat down in front of the TV to watch a little football last night, I really thought I’d be able to finish the stitching on this collage.

LK Workshop 27

Simple stitching–won’t take long–maybe even get two done——not so much! It always takes longer than I think and I also add more stitching than I originally plan, too.

LK Workshop 28 LK Workshop 29

Almost done, though, and I’ll mount it on a canvas.

Put paint on the larger one I did in the workshop, too. I think it’s ready to stitch, but I’ll take another look at it in the studio before I bring it up for ‘in front of the TV work’.

LK Workshop 26

Hmmmm…as I was working on it, I liked it. Now I’m not so sure. Collage is very busy work, isn’t it.

Found a scrap basket with trimmings from other quilts and thought I’d try to collage them together. Started with this black piece and a floral, and some couched yarn.

Quilted leftovers 1

It might be all right, but it needs more work. This next one needs lots more work, but has possibilities.

Quilted leftovers 2

I’m thinking that a narrow strip of another color between strips might be nice. And it might be more trouble than it’s worth and I throw those other bits away without any ‘scrap-lover’s guilt’.

I think I’m packed for teaching in Dallas. If I look around and think about it, there is always something more, but I don’t really need anything else…I think!

Dallas 1 Dallas 2

Oh–maybe I should think about a suitcase for clothes, too!

4 thoughts on “Collage finished–almost!

    • I will definitely give you a call–and even bring some of this stuff for your wonderful critique, if you are up to it!

      On Fri, Sep 25, 2015 at 7:39 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. I’m really liking the direction your collage pieces are going……..the understated stitching is just right! Safe travels…..enjoy…..it’s always such a privilege to lead a workshop…..I miss it terribly!!

    Like

    • I’m having so much fun with these collages! Not going to abandon anything I usually do, but it’s good, very refreshing, to try other styles. Just when I think I want to be retired from travel teaching, I get another offer I can’t resist! You may need to do a couple of workshops every year, just to feed that love of teaching!

      On Fri, Sep 25, 2015 at 7:04 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.