Odds and ends

Hotels do not always have carpet that inspires me. This—-Dal carpet

not at all!

However, there is one wall covered with wallpaper that I just love.

Dal wallpaper

And the shower curtain has richer color and I like it even better!

Dal shower

Certainly makes me want to do this type of flower in one of my little Weekly Special pieces.

And then in today’s workshop–oh, gosh, I forgot to bring my camera! The phone in my (old, not-smart) phone is pretty crappy. But the piece she did was just so nice…and she wanted to break some rules that even I hadn’t thought about!

Margaret-raw edge

She started out making blocks, just like she was supposed to. But they were all small, mostly because my supply list was not as clear as it should have been. (Another story for another day.) She started filling in the blank spaces and suggested, rather tentatively, that she would like to just sew it down as it was…not seam up all the blocks. She was so surprised when I jumped all over that suggestion, thought it was an absolutely awesome idea and really encouraged her to go for it! Maybe I’m a little bit ‘out there’ but raw edge textiles, with all that texture, really appeal to me. I wish I were going to be here when she finishes it! I warned her, though, that I am totally going to steal her idea!

Looking forward to more rule-breaking classwork tomorrow and then on to the vacation part of this little trip.

Having so much fun!

6 thoughts on “Odds and ends

    • I apparently err on the side of trying to make supply lists too simple! I need a bit more detail for my students to be more confident of the materials they bring.

      On Sun, Oct 4, 2015 at 8:24 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  1. Great idea! How the heck was she going to get it home in pieces? That is always my dilemma when I don’t use fusible. Sounds like a great class.

    Like

    • My students are always supposed to bring something for a design wall, so they always have the option of pinning to the wall. Very few students ever get the whole thing done…but it HAS happened!

      On Sun, Oct 4, 2015 at 8:15 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.