I knew it was wrong…

Yep–I knew it was wrong when I was doing it. As I cut the fabric, I tried to convince myself that it would be fine. As I began sewing, I told myself that it looked all right. I turned the binding to the front edge, and I really tried HARD to think it was all good.

Nope–no way–unh-unh–ain’t working!

Pauly class 7

This is where I left off…almost assembled and ready for quilting.

I put it together, which was also an exercise in why I don’t like templates and got it ready to quilt. That is what made me decide that I don’t really want to do this 4 times and make a 4 block wall hanging!

First thing this morning I got at the quilting. Leafy vein type stuff for the leaf parts–

Pauly class 8

–and simple meandering for the outside edge.

Pauly class 9

That’s when I took the wrong step. Really didn’t want to spend time hand sewing a facing so I thought I’d put on a binding–a green binding! Oh.so.bad!

Pauly class 11

Here–get a better look at this bad boy!

Pauly class 12

Glad I left quite a bit of extra fabric around the edges when I was making this, because it was easy to lop off that totally offensive green. Now I can go back and do it right!

Pauly class 10

 

14 thoughts on “I knew it was wrong…

  1. You know, I don’t see a big problem with your binding. It’s all so busy and colorful while still implying the leaf. It was good but you must be happy when you look at it. Sometimes I get so into the details of a project I see problems other people don’t see and I wonder, why can’t you see it!!!
    Anyway, great job. I haven’t seen the pattern but will happily watch to see how you approach this differently. LeeAnna

    Like

    • That’s right–we see things that others don’t and we must be happy with our own work! Now that it has a facing, I’m happy!

      On Fri, Nov 27, 2015 at 9:33 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. It’s always a surprise to me when a fabric with the perfect colors and the perfect scale of print just doesn’t work for an element in a quilt. Frustrating at best. It always takes me way too long to ditch my original plan even when I kmow it’s wrong…

    Like

    • I really like it, too, and now I can’t wait to make it my way, without the templates and see how it comes out!

      On Wed, Nov 25, 2015 at 11:00 PM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. I love that leaf and I don’t think it’s too bright, just fun! Can you share the source for the pattern?
    Diane in Texas

    Like

    • It’s a good leaf–maybe a bit on the bright side, but the green binding just did not work. Maybe another color, maybe solid, would have, but I’ve got the facing on it now and I’m much happier!

      On Wed, Nov 25, 2015 at 7:50 AM, Quirks Ltd. wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.