And onward…

The Slash and Burn workshop with Pat Pauly was very enlightening to me. She teaches an improv method that is quite different from how I work, which is exactly what I was hoping for when I signed up for the workshop! However, it is quite different from the way I work and I had quite a hard time wrapping my mind around it.

My design wall is such an invaluable tool–couldn’t do without it! I stitched and cut and sewed in class and really didn’t have a clear view of what I wanted to create. We had strip sets with which to begin and I had a warm color one and a cool color one, which I thought would work well for whatever we had to do. In general, that worked.

I did not take many process photos–too busy thinking and cutting and re-arranging things on the design wall when I got home. I finally had a direction that made sense to me and this is where I’m at right now.

Pauly class 13

The largest red area, though, still bothers me a bit. It will be connected on the right to that other half with a curvy seam, but it still feels like it might be too much red in that area.

Pauly class 14

Before I jump in and do anything hastily, I think I’ll let this decision wait for a little more thought.

We have hockey games Friday and Saturday–guess what I’ll be thinking about?

2 thoughts on “And onward…

Comments are closed.